cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using my own router - looking for WAN settings please

FIXED
samuelthelab
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 04-03-2016

Using my own router - looking for WAN settings please

Hi,

 

In the process of moving to PN and wondered if someone would be kind enough to offer any specific WAN settings that should be used for pn fibre when using your own router. I know its ppoe but are there any other specific settings that should be used for PN

 

The router is a RT-AC68U and I already have my VDSL modem in place.

 

Many thanks

5 REPLIES
gofaster
Rising Star
Posts: 367
Thanks: 12
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Using my own router - looking for WAN settings please

foobar
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 28-09-2016

Re: Using my own router - looking for WAN settings please

I believe there are a few posts hereabouts from people using that router, so a quick search should return some useful info

samuelthelab
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 04-03-2016

Re: Using my own router - looking for WAN settings please

Many thanks - will look at that.

 

Just one thing though which may save a lot of time- if taking a single static do you need to specify a given static IP address on the wan port or leave it as automatic and PN assign it their end so to speak,

 

cheers

 

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,597
Thanks: 699
Fixes: 67
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Using my own router - looking for WAN settings please

Fix

Leave it as automatic, Plusnet will always supply the IP (you just get the same one every time)

samuelthelab
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 04-03-2016

Re: Using my own router - looking for WAN settings please

Many thanks