cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Usenet Speeds

fugz123
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 22-10-2015

Usenet Speeds

I've recently upgraded to fibre 38M/1.2M unlimited.
I use usenet.
Previously I would get a max of 600Kbytes download speeds but with fibre this starts at 3Mbytes and then slows to nothing over a few minutes.
The only H/W change is a new BT modem. The router is billion7800dxl
Is there a PN policy on usenet speeds?

7 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,006
Thanks: 792
Fixes: 70
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Usenet Speeds

Shouldn't be an issue, what Usenet provider?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Community Veteran
Posts: 6,659
Thanks: 233
Fixes: 16
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: Usenet Speeds

I have no issues with usenet on PN. can get the full 7-8MB/s down usually.
This is on newsgroupdirect.com
fugz123
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 22-10-2015

Re: Usenet Speeds

I've been using Astraweb for the last couple of years.They have 3 different servers.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,006
Thanks: 792
Fixes: 70
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Usenet Speeds

I've been hearing bad things about Astraweb of late. Poor completion and performance issues. If you head over to /r/usenet you'll see what I mean.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

fugz123
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 22-10-2015

Re: Usenet Speeds

Cheers guys. I'll give Frugal a go for a month and see how it goes.
Could just be a coincident with AW and going to fibre
I'll report back
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,659
Thanks: 233
Fixes: 16
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: Usenet Speeds

I was with frugal on their unlimited overnight package, no issues then. I only moved to ngd as they had a $50/year unlimited offer (that is recurring ;-))
fugz123
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 22-10-2015

Re: Usenet Speeds

Cheers guys
All happy with Frugal
Had no issues, speed good, and excellent value