cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upload speed suddenly at 0

Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎29-03-2019

Upload speed suddenly at 0

Hey,

Apologies in advance for the wall of text, I just want to make sure I'm including all of the details.

I’ve been having an issue with my broadband the past couple of days and I’m hoping that someone may be able to shed some light on the issue.

I returned home on the eve of the 26th March and my router lights were orange, when I connected my phone to the WiFi it asked me to sign in to the network. After signing in I was unable to load any web pages or use the internet on any apps I have. Thinking this may have just been a WiFi issue I booted up my PC (Ethernet connection) and it was having the same issue. Webpages were not loading/were taking an extremely long time to load.

Doing speed tests on both my phone and PC it was apparent that the issue was the upload speed. It would be frozen at 0Mbps and would occasionally jump up to 0.01-0.15 Mbps every 10-20 seconds or so and then drop back down to 0. The download speed was about 10-15Mbps lower than usual too. With some tests having the download speed drop to sub 10Mbps (Usual speed was around 70Mbps Download and 15Mbps Upload)

Going into the Hub Manager --> Advanced Settings --> Broadband --> Connection I could see that the speeds that the hub were getting were correct;

Downstream: 79.9 Mbps

Upstream: 20 Mbps

I contacted customer support on the afternoon of the 27th – the advisor done some tests on the line which came back fine, I put the hub in the test socket (with the filter) and there was no difference to the speeds on my end. We came to the conclusion that the issue could be caused by a faulty hub and I had a replacement sent out.

That arrived the following day and the issue is still present. I used the new filter and wires too in case they were causing the issue. I called up again and explained the issue. The advisor then passed it off to the Faults team who will/are monitor(ing) my line for 72 hours looking for drops in connection.

The only time my connection would drop is when the network would ask me to sign in (was happening up to 3 times a day) so I don’t believe the drops are being caused by a faulty line.

Looking through the Event log in the Hub manager I am seeing a lot of messages akin to these;

‘16:59:52, 29 Mar. IN: BLOCK [16] Remote administration (TCP [37.235.230.120]:55673->[146.90.92.138]:80 on ppp3)

16:53:48, 29 Mar. (15196.700000) Admin login successful by 192.168.1.65 on HTTP

16:49:07, 29 Mar. OUT: BLOCK [65] First packet is Invalid (Invalid tcp flags for current tcp state: TCP [192.168.1.68]:31941->[3.90.15.170]:443 on ppp3)

16:45:03, 29 Mar. IN: BLOCK [16] Remote administration (TCP [222.186.129.44]:9090->[146.90.92.138]:22 on ppp3)

16:33:29, 29 Mar. IN: BLOCK [16] Remote administration (TCP [106.12.81.245]:60794->[146.90.92.138]:22 on ppp3)

16:26:18, 29 Mar. OUT: BLOCK [65] First packet is Invalid (Invalid tcp flags for current tcp state: TCP [192.168.1.68]:31941->[3.90.15.170]:443 on ppp3)

16:25:02, 29 Mar. OUT: BLOCK [65] First packet is Invalid (Packet not in tcp window: TCP [192.168.1.68]:15115->[52.218.240.41]:443 on ppp3)

16:24:49, 29 Mar. OUT: BLOCK [65] First packet is Invalid (Packet not in tcp window: TCP [192.168.1.68]:27273->[52.35.240.41]:443 on ppp3)

16:24:08, 29 Mar. OUT: BLOCK [65] First packet is Invalid (Invalid tcp flags for current tcp state: TCP [192.168.1.68]:31941->[3.90.15.170]:443 on ppp3)’


It is seeming as if something is blocking the outgoing connection from the hub.


Running a speedtest on BT Wholesale through Wired connection it is coming back with the following results;

Download Speed (Mbps): 58.80

Upload Speed (Mbps) : 0.09

Ping Latency (ms): 43077




I will include the Hub Details underneath in case it helps;

Product name: Plusnet Hub
Serial number: +081441+NQ84584009
Firmware version: Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.263 Last updated 29/03/19
Board version: Plusnet Hub One
DSL uptime: 0 days, 04:21:07
Data rate: 19999 / 79904
Maximum data rate: 28506 / 92582
Noise margin: 11.3 / 6.4
Line attenuation: 16.6 / 13.5
Signal attenuation: 16.3 / 13.6
Data sent/received: 157.4 MB / 3.7 GB
Broadband username: [Removed]@plusdsl.net
2.4 GHz Wireless network/SSID: PLUSNET-25JS
2.4 GHz Wireless connections: Enabled (802.11 b/g/n (up to 144 Mb/s))
2.4 GHz Wireless security: WPA2
2.4 GHz Wireless channel: Automatic (Smart Wireless)
5 GHz Wireless network/SSID: PLUSNET-25JS
5 GHz Wireless connections: Enabled (802.11 a/n/ac (up to 1300 Mb/s))
5 GHz Wireless security: WPA2
5 GHz Wireless channel: Automatic (Smart Wireless)
Firewall: Default
MAC Address: e8:ad:a6:eb:76:ba
Modulation: G.993.2 Annex B
Software variant: AA
Boot loader: 1.0.0

If you require any further details please let me know and I will do my best to get them for you.


Many thanks in advance!

(Sorry about formatting, had to type up on PC and transfer to phone to post via mobile data)

Moderator's note by Dick (Strat): Personal information removed from a public forum (to an area that staff can see).

Tags (2)
3 REPLIES 3
Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 626
Thanks: 115
Fixes: 31
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Upload speed suddenly at 0

Hi @Parkerx31 and thank you for providing all of this information.

Please accept my apologies for the issue with your broadband performance and connectivity.

After testing the line, your connection appears intermittent. The upload speed displaying as 0 may be a speed test reporting issue because if there was no upload speed the test wouldn't perform.

 

Although this is the case, we need to raise the issue to our suppliers for further investigation as you have completed the internal checks. I'm afraid your connection already has a fault raised against it from 05/04/2018 which appears to be stuck in the system. A bridge case has now been raised (task to correct a system related issue) so we can raise a new fault and we expect to receive an update within 48 working hours.

You can monitor the progress of the fault here and if any of the fault conditions change, feel free to let us know on here or via the ticket.

Thanks again.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Lewis G
 Infrastructure Operations Professional
Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎29-03-2019

Re: Upload speed suddenly at 0

Hi @Jubby, thanks for looking into this for me.

During the speed test (ran through speed test.net) the upload speed would be at 0 for the majority of it, intermittently going up to 0.1 for a few seconds then going back down to 0.

I believe these spikes are what is allowing the speed test to complete on BT Wholesale, and also explains the massive ping.

Thank you for raising the bridge case, I was unaware that a previous fault was still open on your systems.

I hope we can find a resolution for this, as it seems to have came from nowhere.

If there's anything else I can try in the meantime please let me know (either through the Hub Manager or through my home set up)

Thanks again!
Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 626
Thanks: 115
Fixes: 31
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Upload speed suddenly at 0

No problem @Parkerx31,

I'm inclined to agree, with the circuit being intermittent it's very likely there is an underlying fault that we are not detecting when running tests. To be honest, so was I until I tried raising the fault report to progress this issue. It's uncommon however, I'm sure the bridge case will get it closed down. As you have connected to the test socket with the new equipment, no further testing is required from your side but do let us know if anything changes.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Lewis G
 Infrastructure Operations Professional