Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrading to Fibre Question

FIXED
SylviaB
Dabbler

Upgrading to Fibre Question

I am considering upgrading from standard broadband to fibre and have some questions. I would appreciate your help

I have a rather old master socket, Non NTE5 I think. Will this be suitable for fibre.

Also my router is the 2704N. Would I be sent a new one and would I need different microfilters.

Many Thanks

10 REPLIES 10
urshbear
Fixes: 1

Re: Upgrading to Fibre Question

Fix

Hello

Here is some information from my very limited knowledge:

I don't believe you will need a different socket for fibre as it is usually installed remotely.

If you do need a new master socket, it will be installed free of charge (depending on your upgrade plan I suppose) by one of their engineers and will include any additionally required equipment such as a new router.

If a new router is required, it will be delivered to you, again, depending on upgrade plan (probably free), and includes a micro filter as standard.

The microfilter is needed based on whether you have a single or double master socket which the setup guide booklet explains easily.

Den1
Rising Star
Fixes: 2

Hi welcome to the forum, yes you will need a new master socket a NTE5c this would be supplied foc mention this when you order fibre.

You would receive a new router again foc just pay the postage.

Filters would come with the router if needed, the new master socket would have these built in.

SylviaB
Dabbler

Many Thanks for both your replies . You were very helpful 

Much appreciated 

Strat
Community Veteran
Fixes: 565

In my experience an upgrade of the master socket is at the discretion of the Openreach engineer.

A smile, accompanied by an offer of tea may help.

Windows 10 Firefox 109.0 (64-bit)
To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
Mustrum
Community Veteran
Fixes: 77