Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrading to Fibre Extra

FIXED
c5
Dabbler

Upgrading to Fibre Extra

Hi,

I'm new to Plusnet (from BT) on an 18-month Unlimited Fibre plan. I realised before I migrated that the 2mbps upload on Unlimited Fibre probably wouldn't cut it (I use online PC backup software, a lot of cloud storage services, and regularly upload to YouTube).

Before I migrated I called and spoke to a lady at Plusnet who said I could either cancel and reorder, or could just wait until it was installed and then upgrade. She suggested I did the latter as then I'd not need to change my install date and would move over sooner. I could "sort it out once I'd joined", and she assured me it was more than simple to arrange.

So far so good, until I went onto the online chat this afternoon to get the upgrade put through. I was given the choice of a new 24-month contract, paying £5/month more - or a new 18-month contract paying £7/month more.

1. I understood from the lady I spoke to that an in-term upgrade wouldn't affect my contract length. It also says that here: https://www.plus.net/help/archive/broadband/changing-your-plusnet-broadband-product/ "You can switch between Unlimited Fibre and Unlimited Fibre Extra for free without affecting your current contract." - why am I being told something different?

2. I expected to only pay £5/month more, which is the difference in price between the two offerings. Now I'm being told that's only something for new customers ... yet I'm only here because I followed the guidance of a member of the Plusnet team.

I feel somewhat missold. If I'd known I'd need to sign up for a new contract term and pay an inflated price then -of course- I would have cancelled and reordered my migration and started my 18-month contract on the plan I wanted and the price I expected to pay.

Is there anyone who can do something about this, or am I stuck by whatever the guy in the chat says. 

I feel somewhat cheated ...

Cheers

19 REPLIES 19
Browni