cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgraded to Unlimited Fibre Extra, but sync speed no different or download speed change

Stewea
Hooked

Upgraded to Unlimited Fibre Extra, but sync speed no different or download speed change

Hi,

I upgraded my plan, which was activated today, but unfortunately I can see no change in my download speed.

I have reset my router and rebooted it several times today, but there has been no change in speed.

Is it that my line will not go any faster, is in the realms of crosstalk or is there a fault on my line preventing it from syncing any higher?

I have a new master socket installed by Openreach around two months ago with the built in filter faceplate and nothing else plugged into the socket.

I am starting to wonder whether it is worth going for the “Extra” package now if there is no speed benefit.

Any ideas?

6 REPLIES 6
SpendLessTime
Hero
Fixes: 86

Re: Upgraded to Unlimited Fibre Extra, but sync speed no different or download speed change

@Stewea Welcome to the forums.

Given the data rate showing on your Hub One, you have an issue which needs to be looked at.  Your speed is below the estimates for your line.

I would suggest that you follow the https://community.plus.net/t5/Library/Broadband-Faults-Guide-FTTC/ba-p/1322788 which includes the link to logging a fault.

When that fault is fixed, the estimated speeds only show a maximum of 46Mbps so you might be paying too much by having the Fibre Extra as it will only give a few more Mbps than the normal Fibre. 

Ex - Plusnet Customer (2009 - 2023) now with BT
HarryB
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Fixes: 256

Re: Upgraded to Unlimited Fibre Extra, but sync speed no different or download speed change

Hi @Stewea,