cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgraded to Fibre but speed 2.5mps!!

longtran
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 19-10-2016

Upgraded to Fibre but speed 2.5mps!!

My fibre upgrade completed today and my line speed has dropped from 5.6mps on ADSL yesterday to 2.5mps FIBRE today!!

Group hug time!!
Tell me it's temporary!!
Tell me it'll get better!!
Tell me plusnet cares!!
Tell me there's a heaven!!

6 REPLIES
bobminors
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 158
Thanks: 34
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-09-2016

Re: Upgraded to Fibre but speed 2.5mps!!

Check first that your router is actually connecting by VDSL (i.e. fibre) as opposed to ADSL. If it's a Hub One router, go to the Troubleshooting / Event Log tab and in the pull-down for "Category" set it to WAN. You should see a line saying "WAN operating mode is VDSL". If it says ADSL instead of VDSL, you haven't actually got your fibre connection yet.

Next, look on the Hub One's Home page and check the Broadband User Name. It should say your own plusnet username. If it says setup@plusdsl.net then you need to enter your own username and plusnet password on the Settings page.

If all that seems correct, you need to inform PlusNet. Sometimes, they forget to open up the bandwidth setting on their server when someone upgrades. They can easily fix it if you tell them.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,252
Thanks: 885
Fixes: 180
Registered: 25-03-2015

Re: Upgraded to Fibre but speed 2.5mps!!

Welcome to the community forums @longtran.

 

Sorry to hear your speeds are so slow following the complete of your fibre order. There was a mismatch between some settings on your account (Initial checks showed a speed profile of 40Mbps but looking in to this it may have still been around 6Mbps)

 

Could you try disconnecting and reconnecting your router and let me know if the speeds are still low.

 

Thanks.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Help Team
longtran
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 19-10-2016

Re: Upgraded to Fibre but speed 2.5mps!!

Hi Harry

Just disconnected and reconnected , no change, getting 2.12mps

Regards
longtran
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 19-10-2016

Re: Upgraded to Fibre but speed 2.5mps!!

Hi bobsimmons.

Check out router as per your suggestions , everything as it should be

Spoke to plusnet tech and they going to test the line

Thanks for reply
longtran
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 19-10-2016

Re: Upgraded to Fibre but speed 2.5mps!!

bobminers not bobsimmons

Apologies
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,646
Thanks: 640
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Upgraded to Fibre but speed 2.5mps!!

Your line is syncing through to the cabinet at a very low speed, so I've passed the fault through to our suppliers for more investigation.

 
Test Outcome Pass
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0001
Description GEA service test completed and no fault found but unable to check for customer equipment connected to modem.
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 2.2 Mbps
Upstream Speed 1.2 Mbps

Featured Products

Downstream Line Rate(Mbps)

Upstream Line Rate(Mbps)

Downstream Range(Mbps)

WBC FTTC Availability Date

WBC SOGEA Availability Date

Left in Jumper

  High Low High Low        
VDSL Range A (Clean) 20 13.1 1.2 0.8 -- Available -- --
VDSL Range B (Impacted) 13.6 4.6 1.2 0.6 -- Available -- --

 

 

 
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff