cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgraded to Fibre Extra, but still on Standard Speed

FIXED
AndyDane
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Thanks: 1
Registered: 01-12-2015

Upgraded to Fibre Extra, but still on Standard Speed

I upgraded to Fibre Extra at the start of the week, and had the completion email. But my speed hasn't increased and my modem is synced at 39.99 / 9.99.

 

The Plus.net profile shows that it's been set to 80, and I should be getting 52 - 78, and the DSL estimator shows these speeds are achievable. But, when I run the bt wholesale speed checker, it's saying the max line speed is 38.

I have raised a ticket a couple of days ago, but have had no response, so no idea whether this is just a waiting game, or if there is an actual fault?

8 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,217
Thanks: 1,576
Fixes: 172
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Upgraded to Fibre Extra, but still on Standard Speed

have you done a disconnect / connect in the router since the change occured?

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

AndyDane
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Thanks: 1
Registered: 01-12-2015

Re: Upgraded to Fibre Extra, but still on Standard Speed

Yeah a couple of times, restarted it for good measure too

AndyDane
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Thanks: 1
Registered: 01-12-2015

Re: Upgraded to Fibre Extra, but still on Standard Speed

Stats below:

Phone exchange:NORWICH NORTH

Estimated line speed:74Mb (This may vary between 52Mb and 74Mb) - Checked on 2018-03-06 11:55:45

Current line speed:80 Mb

 

Download speedachieved during the test was - 30.12 Mbps
 For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 20 Mbps-38.71 Mbps .
 Additional Information:
 IP Profile for your line is - 38.71 Mbps

 

Downstream: 39.99 Mbps
Upstream: 9.995 Mbps

 

High Low High Low        
VDSL Range A (Clean) 74.5 52.7 20 16.3 44.9 Available -- --  
VDSL Range B (Impacted) 65.2 40 20 11 35 Available --

--

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,528
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Upgraded to Fibre Extra, but still on Standard Speed

Hi , IP Profile for your line is - 38.71 Mbps looks like one the staff needs to bump you profile a bit Thumbs Up

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,420
Thanks: 533
Fixes: 49
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Upgraded to Fibre Extra, but still on Standard Speed

Hi , IP Profile for your line is - 38.71 Mbps looks like one the staff needs to bump you profile a bit

I don't think so.  The line is only synching at 39Mb, the upgrade hasn't happened yet, despite the email saying but has!

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 6,859
Thanks: 1,948
Fixes: 348
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: Upgraded to Fibre Extra, but still on Standard Speed

Fix

Hi there. Sorry to hear your speeds haven't increased following your upgrade to Fibre Extra.

It doesn't look like we've placed the modify order to 80/20 with our suppliers. Sad

I'm placing it now and I'll update your fault ticket shortly. Apologies for the inconvenience caused.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
AndyDane
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Thanks: 1
Registered: 01-12-2015

Re: Upgraded to Fibre Extra, but still on Standard Speed

Oops Smiley

No real inconvenience caused other than wondering what was up.

Thanks for looking into it for me
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 6,859
Thanks: 1,948
Fixes: 348
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: Upgraded to Fibre Extra, but still on Standard Speed

No problems at all. Let us know how your speeds look next week. Smiley

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team