cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgraded to Fibre Extra but no speed increase

Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Registered: Monday

Upgraded to Fibre Extra but no speed increase

I upgraded to Fibre Extra, and had an email this morning to say it was active.

However, there has been no change to the speed.

Could someone look into this please, as my elderly parents will be self-isolating for the next 12 weeks, and they will be relying on the internet.
22 REPLIES 22
Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,108
Thanks: 210
Fixes: 41
Registered: ‎22-01-2018

Re: Upgraded to Fibre Extra but no speed increase

Hello @willives999,

 

Thanks for getting in touch and I am sorry for any inconvenience this has caused. I have checked you speed and it appears that you at are still on the 40Mpbs fibre services.

 

I will arrange for a modify order to upgrade the services and will update the account once the order is placed.

 

Once again I am sorry for any inconvenience caused.

 

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 SammyM
 Plusnet Help Team
Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎15-08-2019

Re: Upgraded to Fibre Extra but no speed increase

I have the same problem
Tags (1)
Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: Monday

Re: Upgraded to Fibre Extra but no speed increase

Same problem here

 

Dave

Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 7,687
Thanks: 843
Fixes: 332
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: Upgraded to Fibre Extra but no speed increase

@Higgi I've placed a order to change this for you which will complete tomorrow. Let us know how you get on

 

@CorbyDave. Similar to the above I've placed a order to correct this which will complete tomorrow. Let us know if you're still having issues.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Registered: Wednesday

Re: Upgraded to Fibre Extra but no speed increase

Hello,

Same issue here, too.

Upgraded to fibre extra on Friday. Email received in the early hours of Monday stating the changeover was complete.

No change to my broadband speed despite rebooting the Hub One.

Regards.
Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Registered: Monday

Re: Upgraded to Fibre Extra but no speed increase

Is there any update as to when this will be sorted?

The connection speed is now getting slower.

Many thanks
Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎15-08-2019

Re: Upgraded to Fibre Extra but no speed increase

Still no change i hope this will be reflected on my bill.
Tags (2)
Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 640
Thanks: 91
Fixes: 37
Registered: ‎25-02-2019

Re: Upgraded to Fibre Extra but no speed increase

Hi @willives999,

 

I have updated the support ticket, please click here to view my response.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Faris
 Plusnet Help Team
Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 640
Thanks: 91
Fixes: 37
Registered: ‎25-02-2019

Re: Upgraded to Fibre Extra but no speed increase

Hi @Higgi, @CorbyDave and @jcer947

 

I am going to look into your connections over the next hour. If you could please avoid replying back to this thread and kindly create your own threads (If you haven't already done so) to avoid any confusion.

 

Thank you for your patience.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Faris
 Plusnet Help Team
Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Registered: Monday

Re: Upgraded to Fibre Extra but no speed increase

Order has supposedly been completed, but now getting slower.

 

Ran a BT wholesale test last week, and I'm supposed to be able to get up to 55Mbps........up until yesterday had 30-32Mbps as per the last few years, then overnight its slowed to a maximum line speed of 26Mbps.

 

Nothings changed here....all Plusnet's end.

Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 640
Thanks: 91
Fixes: 37
Registered: ‎25-02-2019

Re: Upgraded to Fibre Extra but no speed increase

Hi @Higgi,

Please click here to view my update.

 

 

Hi @jcer947,

Please click here to view my update.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Faris
 Plusnet Help Team
Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 640
Thanks: 91
Fixes: 37
Registered: ‎25-02-2019

Re: Upgraded to Fibre Extra but no speed increase

Hi @willives999,

 

I have updated the support ticket, please click here to view my latest response.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Faris
 Plusnet Help Team
Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Registered: Monday

Re: Upgraded to Fibre Extra but no speed increase

To update fellow forum members, Plusnet say there's no cap on the line, and an engineer will need to come out to check for faults.

Before I requested the upgrade to Fibre Extra, I was getting a regular 30-32Mbps on regular Fibre.

The moment it gets "upgraded", I'm now down to 18Mbps.

Log into my account, and I get this:

Minimum Guaranteed Speed: 31.8Mbps
Current Line Speed (Download): 21Mbps

So even on Plusnet's system its showing I've obviously not been upgraded.

I'd suggest Plusnet get in touch with whoever it is that physically makes the changes (Openreach? BT Wholesale?), and actually do their job.

When I first went on to Fibre a couple of years ago with Plusnet I had the same issue, engineer came out, checked everything, no issues.

It was then magically fixed later that day when he'd rang back to say their was no fault.

If this isn't sorted within the next couple of weeks, I'll be requesting a refund and taking this further.

So much for "best customer service".
Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 4,069
Thanks: 1,792
Fixes: 117
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Upgraded to Fibre Extra but no speed increase

@willives999 

The fact that you were only getting 32Mbps is suspicious. If you put your phone number in here what speed range does it report as attainable?  https://my.btwholesale.com/includes/adsl/adsl.htm?s_cid=ws_furls_

There might be a problem with your connection.