cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgraded from normal broadband to super fast fibre, but still getting old speeds

WayneF
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎26-06-2016

Upgraded from normal broadband to super fast fibre, but still getting old speeds

Online chat is working again now and have been in contact with them. Edited post to remove question... 

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav): Personal information removed from a public forum to an area that staff can see.

14 REPLIES
BrightonRock
Pro
Posts: 300
Thanks: 89
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎09-04-2016

Re: Upgraded from normal broadband to super fast fibre, but still getting old speeds

Online chat can be blocked by security settings in browsers. If you are using Ghostery or Adblock+ or equivalent systems then try turning them off and see if that gives you access to the chat system.

WayneF
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎26-06-2016

Re: Upgraded from normal broadband to super fast fibre, but still getting old speeds

I used it the other day and it was fine, it's not my computer or ipad

WayneF
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎26-06-2016

Re: Upgraded from normal broadband to super fast fibre, but still getting old speeds

But anyway, that's the least of my problems... I'm paying for something I'm not getting... I want it sorting

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,810
Thanks: 824
Fixes: 81
Registered: ‎21-09-2009

Re: Upgraded from normal broadband to super fast fibre, but still getting old speeds

@WayneF

 

You may want to edit out your username in the first post. Plusnet staff can ask you to PM the details to them.

 

It sounds like your problem is that Plusnet have not set your line to be FTTC speeds. The "Plusnet Line Speed" is the maximum download speed that your line can achieve and is shown at https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed (Login is required)

If your speed tests results show the upload speed to be much higher than the previous ADSL, then this is the issue.

As it is the weekend it might be better to phone Plusnet as the forum is not necessarily monitored by Plusnet staff whom are working today.

Support number is

  • 0800 432 0200 (from within the UK)

 

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,297
Thanks: 790
Fixes: 47
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: Upgraded from normal broadband to super fast fibre, but still getting old speeds

Why don't you call them?

Posted at same time as SLT, the forum software should have notified me of a new postAngry

I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,810
Thanks: 824
Fixes: 81
Registered: ‎21-09-2009

Re: Upgraded from normal broadband to super fast fibre, but still getting old speeds

@BrightonRock

It does look like Chat is down currently, I'm not seeing it available either and I'm not blocking any sites currently in this browser.

BrightonRock
Pro
Posts: 300
Thanks: 89
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎09-04-2016

Re: Upgraded from normal broadband to super fast fibre, but still getting old speeds

@SpendLessTime

 

Chat is working here. It is not blocking websites that causes the problem but stopping trackers that allow information to be carried over from the normal website to the chat system. On my Firefox system with Adblock+ and Ghostery, it is the Ghostery part that blocks chat if I let it.

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,810
Thanks: 824
Fixes: 81
Registered: ‎21-09-2009

Re: Upgraded from normal broadband to super fast fibre, but still getting old speeds

@BrightonRock

Yes it is now at this moment as I've just check again, but it absolutely was not when I posted earlier. Checked from same machine and browser etc. It was down earlier, honest.

BrightonRock
Pro
Posts: 300
Thanks: 89
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎09-04-2016

Re: Upgraded from normal broadband to super fast fibre, but still getting old speeds

I believe you! I believe you!

The wider point remains that, so far as I can see, PlusNet still haven't put a warning on the website about the effect of security software in browsers blocking initiating chat. I forget how long ago we asked for this to be done.

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,810
Thanks: 824
Fixes: 81
Registered: ‎21-09-2009

Re: Upgraded from normal broadband to super fast fibre, but still getting old speeds

@BrightonRock

I asked on day one along with countless others and have repeated the request too. As have others. But it is ignored as not important, like the individual customer. Been told it has been fed back but that's getting old. Too much is "fed back" here without any positive changes.

 

We are just a number, one of the many, individually unimportant. 

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,533
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: Upgraded from normal broadband to super fast fibre, but still getting old speeds

Yup on monday PN will come here with ,,, Sorry to hear you have problems ,,, Sad

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,984
Thanks: 581
Fixes: 219
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: Upgraded from normal broadband to super fast fibre, but still getting old speeds

Glad to hear it got sorted.

With regards to ad-blockers this is something we are investigating.

If you can tell us what ad-blocker you use we can get that looked into further.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
WayneF
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎26-06-2016

Re: Upgraded from normal broadband to super fast fibre, but still getting old speeds

I wouldn't say it's sorted, but it's been explained why and a refund has been promised.

BrightonRock
Pro
Posts: 300
Thanks: 89
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎09-04-2016

Re: Upgraded from normal broadband to super fast fibre, but still getting old speeds

@MatthewWheeler

There are already several threads about the issue with Chat that you might want to check back on. Albeit they may have been on the old forum; it certainly goes back that far.

My view is that the issue with Chat usually relates to software blocking trackers not ad-blocking as such. Although I don't rule out some ad-block filters doing both.

On my Firefox system Ghostery blocks the button to start Chat with or without AdBlock Plus using the Easylist filter