cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgraded Plusnet fibre, no change in speed.

demon14
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 15-11-2011

Upgraded Plusnet fibre, no change in speed.

I have upgraded my fibre from plusnet fibre (40MB) to plusnet fibre extra (68MB-80MB, on the 1st of March.

 

Plusnet advised me that the line has been upgraded, but my speedtest results have remained the same.

 

line.JPGspeedtest.jpg

7 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,455
Thanks: 235
Fixes: 31
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Upgraded Plusnet fibre, no change in speed.

Looking at the BTW figures I would say you are on a 55/10 profile, not 80/20.

What are the sync and max attainable rates on your router? Log in and go to the Help Desk tab.

demon14
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 15-11-2011

Re: Upgraded Plusnet fibre, no change in speed.

Thx mustrum

I have a netgear router connected to the bt ethernet modem so unable to get stats from the modem.

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,455
Thanks: 235
Fixes: 31
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Upgraded Plusnet fibre, no change in speed.

That makes it a bit more difficult, but it would be worth paying the £7 carriage to get hold of a Hub 1, or a BT HH5. You can still use your Netgear Router, but probably need to change ip address range on one of them, and allow the Hub 1 to do the user name and password.

It could be that's  all your line is capable of I guess, what speeds does it say you should get on the DSL Checker?

demon14
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 15-11-2011

Re: Upgraded Plusnet fibre, no change in speed.

I unlocked the Huawei HG612 using the guide, and got the line stats, from telnet session, seems im still on 55/10 as you suspected Mumstrum

 

Welcome Visiting Huawei Home Gateway
Copyright by Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd.
Login:admin
Password:
ATP>sh

 

BusyBox v1.9.1 (2014-01-21 16:44:38 CST) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

# xdslcmd info --pbParams
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason: 0
Last initialization procedure status: 0
Max: Upstream rate = 22666 Kbps, Downstream rate = 68304 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 9999 Kbps, Downstream rate = 55000 Kbps
Bearer: 1, Upstream rate = 0 Kbps, Downstream rate = 0 Kbps
Discovery Phase (Initial) Band Plan
US: (7,32) (871,1205) (1972,2782)
DS: (33,859) (1216,1961) (2793,3970)
Medley Phase (Final) Band Plan
US: (7,32) (871,1205) (1972,2782)
DS: (33,859) (1216,1961) (2793,3970)
VDSL Port Details Upstream Downst
ream
Attainable Net Data Rate: 22666 kbps 68304 kbps
Actual Aggregate Tx Power: 6.6 dBm 12.8 dBm
================================================================================
====
VDSL Band Status U0 U1 U2
U3 U4 D1 D2 D3
Line Attenuation(dB): 3.7 23.4 27.8 N/A N/A 12.0 27.9
35.6
Signal Attenuation(dB): 3.7 22.1 26.8 N/A N/A 16.7 27.9
35.6
SNR Margin(dB): 12.2 15.1 14.1 N/A N/A 10.2
10.2 10.2
TX Power(dBm): -7.9 -20.9 6.4 N/A N/A 9.1
7.8 7.1
tones.JPG

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav): Post released from Spam Filter

demon14
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 15-11-2011

Re: Upgraded Plusnet fibre, no change in speed.

Hi Mustrum

 

I have unlocked my modem huawei HG612, and am getting 55/10 profile.

 

xdslcmd info --stats
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason: 0
Last initialization procedure status: 0
Max: Upstream rate = 23829 Kbps, Downstream rate = 72860 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 9999 Kbps, Downstream rate = 55000 Kbps
Bearer: 1, Upstream rate = 0 Kbps, Downstream rate = 0 Kbps
Link Power State: L0
Mode: VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile: Profile 17a
TPS-TC: PTM Mode(0x0)
Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
Line Status: No Defect
Training Status: Showtime
Down Up
SNR (dB): 11.4 22.0
Attn(dB): 14.0 0.0
Pwr(dBm): 12.8 1.3

 

 

 SNR improved after disconnecting my internal phone wiring.

 

snr.jpgtones after rewire.JPG

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,455
Thanks: 235
Fixes: 31
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Upgraded Plusnet fibre, no change in speed.

You will need to get back to PN or wait until one of the staff members have seen your post and put you on the correct profile.

But now you have unlocked the modem, you will be able to keep an eye on the performance of your line, and use the info to prove to PN they have you on the wrong profile.

demon14
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 15-11-2011

Re: Upgraded Plusnet fibre, no change in speed.

Hi Just to conclude

 

Rang PN and spoke to technical support they ran Line diagnostics which show 55/10 profile.

PN sent the request for the change 01/03/2017 and showed on thier systems, but BT had deferred the IP profile change to 07/03/2017 (Tuesday) so will see if we see a change then.

 

Thanks for your help Mustrum