cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgraded Fibre to Fibre Extra: Speeds getting worse

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,911
Thanks: 384
Fixes: 43
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Upgraded Fibre to Fibre Extra: Speeds getting worse

They can't reset the profile, and you are refusing to do simple checks.

You won't get charged the £65 if you do those checks and everything is fine.

Phone lines, like people can degenerate with time, so you "thinking" everything is fine, is no substitute for some actual checks.Your neighbours may also have taken up fibre, which can increase cross talk on your line, reducing your speeds.

Or there could be many other reasons, so the checks will help make sure you do not get charged, and who knows, you may actually find a problem. 

 

goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 3,022
Thanks: 135
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Upgraded Fibre to Fibre Extra: Speeds getting worse

PN are correct if engineer found a fault inside your property by your own equipment it will charged u £65 but like u say there is no fault inside your property - you won't be charged anyway and let the engineer do it for u as he might force to reset DLM for you if u are lucky.

 

 

daleh43
Grafter
Posts: 26
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎27-08-2017

Re: Upgraded Fibre to Fibre Extra: Speeds getting worse

hi,

@Mustrum & @goldenfibre

Ok so I have dismantled the faceplate and went out and bought a micro filter. Connected phone and absolutely no chatter/interference. run BT wholesale test and IP profile up slightly from 57.53Mbps to 57.65Mbps

So all the same, no difference

 

goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 3,022
Thanks: 135
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Upgraded Fibre to Fibre Extra: Speeds getting worse

Make sure u connected to the master socket test socket with your micro filter and leave it alone and tell PN go ahead with an engineer visit, let the engineer do the work as it might resolved your line speed issues but I have to warned you, make sure u know the BTw checker availability estimate on VDSL Range A (Clean) with Downstream Handback Threshold(Mbps) if your speed above this, engineer will not reset DLM.

daleh43
Grafter
Posts: 26
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎27-08-2017

Re: Upgraded Fibre to Fibre Extra: Speeds getting worse

hi @goldenfibre

high      low         downstream handback

 80       68.4                   63.2

 

so do you want be to dismantle face plate again and leave the microfilter in test slot ?Huh

thanks

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,911
Thanks: 384
Fixes: 43
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Upgraded Fibre to Fibre Extra: Speeds getting worse

Before you do that, are you able to log into the router, go to the Helpdesk tab if it's a Hub 1, and make a note of the sync speed and max attainable speed - and do the same in the test socket. 

If there is a difference then you know you have an issue with your wiring - running speed tests only give a bit of the answer, it's the sync speed that PN quote and will be looking at. Also your profile will not change between tests, so your speed tests are likely to be the same

goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 3,022
Thanks: 135
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Upgraded Fibre to Fibre Extra: Speeds getting worse

Get sync rate and max rate on your current hub then post here. Then powered down hub for at least 30 minutes while u put in test socket with microfilter and powered it up and get another sync rate and max rate on your hub to compare the different.

 

I always advised to powered down for 30 minutes in between to avoid DLM reduced speed.

 

Below is my current stats for my line with modem uptime: 99 days 19 hours 27 min 38 sec

 

                                Downstream	Upstream
Line attenuation (dB):  	11.6		0.0
Signal attenuation (dB):	Not available on VDSL2
Max rate speed (kbps):    	83569		28126 		
Connection speed (kbps):	80000		19999
SNR margin (dB):        	6.8		15.1
Power (dBm):            	12.5		0.0
Interleave depth:       	8		1
INP:                    	49.00		0
G.INP:                  	Enabled		Not enabled
Vectoring status:       	5 (VECT_UNCONFIGURED)	

			Bearer 0
INP:            49.00           0.00
INPRein:        0.00            0.00
delay:          0               0
PER:            0.00            3.98
OR:             0.01            64.22
AgR:            80344.32        20063.54

                        Bearer 1
INP:            4.00            0.00
INPRein:        4.00            0.00
delay:          3               0
PER:            16.06           0.01
OR:             95.62           0.01
AgR:            95.62   	0.01
	

 

daleh43
Grafter
Posts: 26
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎27-08-2017

Re: Upgraded Fibre to Fibre Extra: Speeds getting worse

hi @goldenfibre

this my hub readout normal:

. Product name: Plusnet Hub
2. Serial number: +081441+NQ71611380
3. Firmware version: Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.237.2.2 Last updated 01/09/17
4. Board version: Plusnet Hub One
5. DSL uptime: 0 days, 02:48:22
6. Data rate: 20000 / 59391
7. Maximum data rate: 21014 / 59572
8. Noise margin: 6.2 / 6.1
9. Line attenuation: 11.9 / 12.6
10. Signal attenuation: 11.8 / 12.6

 

My IP profile is 57.41 Mbps

 

this is after 30mins and test slot:

1. Product name: Plusnet Hub
2. Serial number: +081441+NQ71611380
3. Firmware version: Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.237.2.2 Last updated 01/09/17
4. Board version: Plusnet Hub One
5. DSL uptime: 0 days, 00:10:42
6. Data rate: 20000 / 59410
7. Maximum data rate: 21076 / 59734
8. Noise margin: 6.2 / 6.1
9. Line attenuation: 11.9 / 12.5
10. Signal attenuation: 11.8 / 12.5
11. Data sent/received: 10.5 MB / 267.5 MB

 

IP profile 57.5Mbps

 

 

goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 3,022
Thanks: 135
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Upgraded Fibre to Fibre Extra: Speeds getting worse

Your fibre cabinet sound like crosstalk on it because the maximum rate is 59 Meg as openreach engineer might tell you the range maximum speed your line can get is no more than 59 Meg
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,911
Thanks: 384
Fixes: 43
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Upgraded Fibre to Fibre Extra: Speeds getting worse

So no significant difference between those, so you should be confident that you won't get billed due to an issue on your side of the master socket.

The only other thing I can suggest for now is to post the results of the BTW DSL Checker. . The fact the BTW have accepted a fault and are asking for an engineer to go out suggests that your sync speed is lower than it should be, but their automated tests can't work out where the issue is, so needs an engineer to investigate.

goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 3,022
Thanks: 135
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Upgraded Fibre to Fibre Extra: Speeds getting worse

He already did.
high low downstream handback

80 68.4 63.2

Your line sync rate are below Downstream handback so need an engineer out to your house.
daleh43
Grafter
Posts: 26
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎27-08-2017

Re: Upgraded Fibre to Fibre Extra: Speeds getting worse

@Mustrum

here is my bt broadband expectations

Screen Shot 01-05-19 at 08.59 PM.PNG

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,911
Thanks: 384
Fixes: 43
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Upgraded Fibre to Fibre Extra: Speeds getting worse

@goldenfibre yes, but he has now documented evidence on a public forum that he has carried out all of the expected checks, and has shown his speeds are lower than they should be. He also knows that a it is not just a profile reset needed, but than an engineer needs to go out and investigate the cause of the problem. Hopefully he will get a good one who will spot a corroded joint or something, fix it, and then get a DLM reset..

 

daleh43
Grafter
Posts: 26
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎27-08-2017

Re: Upgraded Fibre to Fibre Extra: Speeds getting worse

hi,

Ok, so Ive had engineer out, he agreed that I should be getting better speeds than I'm getting. He changed the face plate to the "new one" then proceeded to cabinet. An hour later he came back and said he had to change over ports and reset the DLM. Now I'm getting 61.5Mbps (still under my 63.2Mbps guaranteed speed). he said "thats it" thats all you'll get.

Feel a little disappointed that I'm not getting the speeds I expected but he was on over and hour & half trying to fix it.

What next ? cancel my contract due to not getting guaranteed speed, 63.2Mbps  ( estimated 68-80MBps) or just suck it up

:undecided:

goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 3,022
Thanks: 135
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Upgraded Fibre to Fibre Extra: Speeds getting worse

Resetted DLM mean it will removed G.INP at first stage. Next few days of stable up to 3 days will bring back G.INP enabled and your sync rate will see lots higher than 61.5Mbps. Be patient, your line will bring back G.INP soon. So, look at my two FTTC stats when openreach has resetted DLM and after G.INP enabled below:

Before: (DLM Resetted and G.INP removed)

Downstream Upstream
Line attenuation (dB): 12.0 0.0
Signal attenuation (dB): Not available on VDSL2                                                                                                            Connection speed (kbps): 67526 19999
SNR margin (dB): 6.2 15.1
Power (dBm): 12.5 0.9
Interleave depth: 1321 1
INP: 3.00 0
G.INP: Not enabled Not enabled
Vectoring status: 5 (VECT_UNCONFIGURED)

After: (DLM restored and G.INP has enabled after few days)

Downstream Upstream
Line attenuation (dB): 12.0 0.0
Signal attenuation (dB): Not available on VDSL2
Connection speed (kbps): 79999 19999
SNR margin (dB): 6.3 15.1
Power (dBm): 12.5 1.0
Interleave depth: 8 1
INP: 48.00 0
G.INP: Enabled Not Enabled