cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unlimited fibre EXTRA???

Davidreckitt
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-03-2015

Unlimited fibre EXTRA???

Hi
I just started with plusnet, been about a month.
All is okay except one thing - I have paid for the fibre 'extra' service..okay so ist up to 76 megs...the engineer said I had that sopeed avaulbale but I am only getting 36?? So whats up? I may aswell go for the standard service?
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,418
Thanks: 1,004
Fixes: 58
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Unlimited fibre EXTRA???

Please post the results of a BT Speedtest - Further Diagnostics
You can ignore the blurb at the beginning as all we are interested in is the IP Profile
Davidreckitt
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-03-2015

Re: Unlimited fibre EXTRA???

BT wholesale:
'No Fibre to the Premises (FTTP) services have been found at this address. Please check the postcode or use the Telephone Number or Service ID to conduct the test'........Huh?Huh
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,379
Thanks: 586
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Unlimited fibre EXTRA???

If you have FTTC, then you just put in your telephone number where it says "Telephone Number of the broadband circuit:".
Ignore the other fields.
If you have FTTP, then you normally need to fill in just the "Broadband circuit Service ID" which Plusnet will advise you of.
deathtrap
Grafter
Posts: 1,063
Thanks: 4
Registered: 23-04-2013

Re: Unlimited fibre EXTRA???

I think old jim meant this web site  http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/
ignore the red text  select yes and hit the begin button & run the speedtest and then  hit the further diagnostics button enter your telephone number as directed and run the second part of the test, the results page should display your speeds and also details of the IP profile
Davidreckitt
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-03-2015

Re: Unlimited fibre EXTRA???

Thanks for that.
Done the test here's the info:
Download speedachieved during the test was - 37.91 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 56.64 Mbps-70.8 Mbps .
Additional Information:
IP Profile for your line is - 70.8 Mbps

So, from this I can gather that I shoudl get around 70 but am not - I'm calling CS...right?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,418
Thanks: 1,004
Fixes: 58
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Unlimited fibre EXTRA???

First thing is to check the current line speed here https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
It should be 70.8Mbps
If it is 40Mbps then you have been put on the wrong product
Davidreckitt
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-03-2015

Re: Unlimited fibre EXTRA???

its 40
wrong product -thanks I'll have a chat with CS and thanks for your help.
dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: 24-02-2015

Re: Unlimited fibre EXTRA???

My line will only give the up to 38Mb service as I'm 1 Km from the cabinet, was told it I paid for up to 76Mb I would get no increase in speed. 
(Yes ISPs would let me pay the higher price!)
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png
MattyC
Champion
Posts: 3,192
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 46
Registered: 10-04-2014

Re: Unlimited fibre EXTRA???

Thanks to everyone for getting to the bottom of this for David, I can see that someone has altered his profile speeds.
Quote from: dnpark38
My line will only give the up to 38Mb service as I'm 1 Km from the cabinet, was told it I paid for up to 76Mb I would get no increase in speed. 

Well I'm glad that the agent showed a little integrity there. Though the facility to change your package to extra isn't available to our CS if your line speeds won't allow it.
ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet