cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unlimited Fibre Plan

paulm10
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Unlimited Fibre Plan

Hello,

Everytime I download a large game from Steam, I wish I had faster download speeds.

I often think about upgrading to Plusnet's Unlimited Fibre package but I don't want it with line rental.

I want to stay with BT.

 

Does anyone know if it's possible to get this package without the line rental included?

 

Thanks.

16 REPLIES 16
Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,521
Thanks: 575
Fixes: 56
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Unlimited Fibre Plan

PN, do not offer broadband only packages, not many ISP's do.
jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 7,354
Thanks: 2,500
Fixes: 74
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Unlimited Fibre Plan

Sorry @paulm10 . Like most ISPs, Plusnet only offer phone+broadband packages these days.

John
Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,527
Thanks: 2,941
Fixes: 192
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Unlimited Fibre Plan

@paulm10 

Yes, no.

Plusnet no longer offer new contracts for broadband without you paying the line rental. Anyway it will be cheaper to either get both from BT or Plusnet. It’s also a lot less hassle if you have a fault as sometimes a fault that’s the telephone suppliers responsibility to fix stops the broadband from working but doesn’t affect the telephone service. This leads to delays and hassle to get it fixed.

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 7,354
Thanks: 2,500
Fixes: 74
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Unlimited Fibre Plan

@Mustrum  @Baldrick1  - snap! 😀

John
paulm10
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Unlimited Fibre Plan

Thank you for all the replies everyone.

If I decide to upgrade to fibre, I've got two choices:

Stay with Plusnet and pay line rental with them or,

Transfer over to BT and pay for thier Broadbrand Fibre.

 

I'll have to give it some thought.

Thanks everyone.

RobPN
Hero
Posts: 3,856
Thanks: 1,792
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎17-05-2013

Re: Unlimited Fibre Plan


@paulm10 wrote:

 

If I decide to upgrade to fibre, I've got two choices:


@paulm10 

Presumably you've checked to see what connection types are available at your address / phone number?

(Checker:  https://www.broadbandchecker.btwholesale.com/#/ADSL )

Because if you're in a FTTP enabled location as opposed to VDSL (FTTC), then you might only have one choice, as PN don't offer FTTP yet, although there is talk of them starting to later this year.

paulm10
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Unlimited Fibre Plan

I'm in a VDSL (FTTC) area.

 

Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,527
Thanks: 2,941
Fixes: 192
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Unlimited Fibre Plan

@paulm10 

It looks like a no brainer to me. I would expect that whichever way you jump you can get phone and fibre on one contract for less than you are currently paying for ADSL and phone with separate companies.

Just watch out for cancellation charges when doing your sums.

RealAleMadrid
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,547
Thanks: 693
Fixes: 36
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Unlimited Fibre Plan

@paulm10  You will be paying for line rental whoever you go with for broadband. You have a choice of many suppliers but  very few offer broadband only, if you really want to stay with BT for line rental then you will have to go with BT broadband. Depending on any special deals on offer Plusnet may or may not be cheaper.

paulm10
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Unlimited Fibre Plan

Hello,

I have a follow up question.

If I chose to go with Plusnet and pay Line Rental with them, What happens if I have a problem or fault with the landline?

Do Plusnet have their own team of trained telecom engineers that they send out, or do they just use BT (Openreach) engineers?

 

Thanks.

Strat
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 30,533
Thanks: 3,435
Fixes: 514
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Unlimited Fibre Plan

BT (Openreach) engineers.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 89.0.2 (64-bit)

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 7,354
Thanks: 2,500
Fixes: 74
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Unlimited Fibre Plan

The pohone/broadband network is owned, managed and serviced by Openreach, whichever ISP you go with, other than Virgin Media.

John
RichardB
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 808
Thanks: 264
Fixes: 27
Registered: ‎19-11-2008

Re: Unlimited Fibre Plan

Like BT PN use Openreach.
As an aside Plusnet are owned by BT and come under the BT consumer division along with BT retail and EE.
https://www.bt.com/about/bt/our-company/group-businesses/consumer
Three brands with different target markets.
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,695
Thanks: 2,544
Fixes: 189
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Unlimited Fibre Plan

or do they just use BT (Openreach) engineers?

All ISP's that use the BT network use Openreach engineers, since only their engineers are allowed to work on the network.

edit: Im getting slow in my old age😁

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.