cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unlimited Fibre Extra - only 12 Mbps

asek94
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 30-01-2017

Unlimited Fibre Extra - only 12 Mbps

Hello everyone.

So - I have this problem - recently I upgraded my broadband to Unlimited Fibre Extra (est. speed: 56 - 76 Mbps). The problem is - I get just 12 Mbps (13 Mbps tops). I already contacted Plus.net multiple times. They sent me an email with this:

Thanks for your patience, I have completed testing on your line and the results from our end show the connection is working within acceptable limits. The profile speed for your sync speed is correct but we cannot test the speed from your end.

I'm really confused right now. I've tried connecting a desktop PC, laptop and two smartphones. Nothing gets past 12 Mbps. I've tried re-configuring router as well - changing channels manually, resetting settings, tweaking them. Switched from 2.4 GHz to 5 GHz. Nothing.

Any suggestions?

Cheers,

Richard V.

 

P. S. Speedtest.net results:

Screenshot_1.png

20 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,074
Thanks: 2,616
Fixes: 192
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra - only 12 Mbps

What does it show your speeds should be if you enter your telephone number in the DSL Checker

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

asek94
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 30-01-2017

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra - only 12 Mbps

Thanks for replying.
This?:
Screenshot_2.png

DS
Pro
Posts: 597
Thanks: 120
Fixes: 8
Registered: 06-01-2017

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra - only 12 Mbps

What's your speed test results using this?

It would appear from your first post that you're using a Plusnet Hub One, therefore what results are shown on 6 and 7 on this page?

Are all the devices connecting to the router via WiFi?

If so, can you connect one via Ethernet and repeat the top speed test.

asek94
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 30-01-2017

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra - only 12 Mbps

Thank you for your reply.

6-10:

6. Data rate: 443 / 15092
7. Maximum data rate: 1092 / 15544
8. Noise margin: 25.0 / 4.6
9. Line attenuation: 15.3 / 32.2
10. Signal attenuation: 15.5 / 30.5

 

Speedtest:

Screenshot_2.png

Sadly, I can't connect directly to router using Ethernet cable (my PC's is ~10m (33ft) away and I don't have Ethernet cable that long).

About 7-8 months ago I had Unlimited Fibre Extra in my previous address. I was using WiFi there on 4-5 devices and everything was perfect. That's why I don't understand what can be wrong here...

Cheers,

Rihards Varna

maranello
Pro
Posts: 1,004
Thanks: 90
Fixes: 1
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra - only 12 Mbps

It looks like your profile has not been changed in response to the the upgrade. You can check this here

You will need your Member Centre login and password

My other car isn't a Ferrari
asek94
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 30-01-2017

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra - only 12 Mbps

Hmmm... I think it has changed (the title says "High-speed Broadband").

Screenshot_1.png

maranello
Pro
Posts: 1,004
Thanks: 90
Fixes: 1
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra - only 12 Mbps

It looks like you are well below the fault threshold from those figures. Normal approach in this case would be to raise a fault, but to do that you would need to run a speedtest using a wired connection. However, you would probably get a quicker resolution if a member of PN staff picked up on this thread. @Anoush has helped me in the past and frequents the forum regularly, hopefully he will pick this up.

Incidentally, the term 'High Speed Broadband' refers to both ADSL and fibre in this instance.

My other car isn't a Ferrari
asek94
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 30-01-2017

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra - only 12 Mbps

Thanks for the response.

Well, at this point it seems that I've tried everything (besides connecting PC to the router using cable). This postcode got Fibre connection only about a month ago. Can that be the problem?

maranello
Pro
Posts: 1,004
Thanks: 90
Fixes: 1
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra - only 12 Mbps

The fact that the fibre has only recently become available is unlikely to affect the sync speed to the extent you are seeing. My money is on the problem being that PN have failed to re-provision you correctly. It seems to happen too frequently from both personal experience and other threads I have seen.

My other car isn't a Ferrari
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,483
Thanks: 646
Fixes: 58
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra - only 12 Mbps

@asek94

On the Hub One troubleshooting page (which you used earlier to get the various data speeds from), what does it say for 

23. Modulation: G.993.2 Annex B

If it contains "G.992." then you have not yet been upgraded to FTTC. If it says "G.993." then you have a fault as 993 modulation is FTTC but 992 is ADSL.

asek94
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 30-01-2017

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra - only 12 Mbps

Well, I'm in the middle:

24. Modulation: G.992.5 Annex A

What does it mean?

Thanks everybody for your time and help.

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,483
Thanks: 646
Fixes: 58
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra - only 12 Mbps

@asek94

You have not yet been upgraded to FTTC. Phone or Chat with Plusnet and get them to tell you when the line will be upgraded.

asek94
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 30-01-2017

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra - only 12 Mbps

That's a relief (I guess?).
You guys are amazing, thanks to all of you.
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,483
Thanks: 646
Fixes: 58
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra - only 12 Mbps

If you wish to bookmark this page http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/linestats_explanation.htm it includes what the meaning of the G.99x codes are.