cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unlimited Fibre Extra Guarenteed 39.8Mb but only getting 5.2Mb

FIXED
Gladstone
Rising Star
Posts: 54
Thanks: 14
Registered: 09-09-2017

Unlimited Fibre Extra Guarenteed 39.8Mb but only getting 5.2Mb

 

Hi PN Community experts Smiley 

 

Since moving to our home 4 months ago we've been experiencing really slow Unlimited Fibre speeds. We started off around 10/3 on speedtest.net but recently the results (at various times) never get above 5.2/1.

 

[URL=http://beta.speedtest.net/result/6609348939][IMG]http://beta.speedtest.net/result/6609348939.png[/IM...]

 

A few days I upgraded (?) from Unlimited Fibre to Unlimited Fibre Extra to try and boost it but it doesn't seem to have changed the speed at all. Would it usually improve speed by a good deal?

 

I've tried turning off the router for over 30 minutes but no change at all.

 

 

The Plusnet members page states this;

 

Unlimited Fibre Extra 

Your Minimum Guaranteed Access Line Speed:39.8Mb

 

 

 

Here's the info from https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed

 

Telephone number:

Phone exchange:ABERDEEN BIELDSIDE

Estimated line speed:1.5Mb (Download speed could vary depending on line conditions. Estimates are the maximum speeds that your phone line can support. These speeds are dependent on the package you choose.) - Checked on 2017-09-08 21:30:32Current line speed:6.3 Mb

 

Results from http://speedtest.btwholesale.com

 

1. Best Effort Test:  -provides background information.

 

 Download speedachieved during the test was - 5.08 Mbps

 For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 3.7 Mbps-5.29 Mbps .

 Additional Information:

 IP Profile for your line is - 5.29 Mbps


2. Upstream Test:  -provides background information.

 

Upload speed achieved during the test was - 1.17Mbps

 Additional Information:

 Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 20 Mbps

 

We were unable to identify any performance problem with your service at this time.

It is possible that any problem you are currently, or had previously experienced may have been caused by traffic congestion on the Internet or by the server you were accessing responding slowly.

If you continue to encounter a problem with a specific server, please contact the administrator of that server in the first instance.

 

 

 

Here's the router stats from the Troubleshooting > Helpdesk page on the Hub One;

1. Product name: Plusnet Hub

2. Serial number:  

3. Firmware version: Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.237.2.2 Last updated 08/09/17

 

4. Board version: Plusnet Hub One

5. DSL uptime: 0 days, 14:09:19

6. Data rate: 1277 / 5469

7. Maximum data rate: 1277 / 5476

8. Noise margin: 5.8 / 6.1

9. Line attenuation: 17.3 / 35.9

10. Signal attenuation: 17.3 / 25.7

11. Data sent/received: 995.4 MB / 11.5 GB

12. Broadband username:  

13. 2.4 GHz Wireless network/SSID:  

14. 2.4 GHz Wireless connections: Enabled (802.11 b/g/n (up to 144 Mb/s))

15. 2.4 GHz Wireless security: WPA2

16. 2.4 GHz Wireless channel: Automatic (Smart Wireless)

17. 5 GHz Wireless network/SSID:  

18. 5 GHz Wireless connections: Enabled (802.11 a/n/ac (up to 1300 Mb/s))

19. 5 GHz Wireless security: WPA2

20. 5 GHz Wireless channel: Automatic (Smart Wireless)

21. Firewall: Default 2

2. MAC Address:  

23. Modulation: G.993.2 Annex B

24. Software variant: AA

25. Boot loader: 1.0.0

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav): Post released from Spam Filter.

101 REPLIES
petecov23
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 6
Registered: 06-09-2017

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra Guarenteed 39.8Mb but only getting 5.2Mb

Well it looks like your line profile is 5mbps. Your sync certainly is anyway. Infact it's saying the max your line can get is 5.5mbps!?

 

Hoping they can fix it. Might be best to call up rather than wait on here, if your needing it sooner than early next week that is. 

jon
Grafter
Posts: 29
Thanks: 7
Registered: 13-07-2016

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra Guarenteed 39.8Mb but only getting 5.2Mb

> I upgraded (?) from Unlimited Fibre to Unlimited Fibre Extra to try and boost it but it doesn't seem to have changed the

> speed at all. Would it usually improve speed by a good deal?

The standard fibre and fibre extra use the same technology, the difference being that the standard fibre artificially limits the download speed to 40mbps (and the upload speed to 2mbps). Therefore if your broadband line speed is already < 40mbps then there's absolutely no benefit in upgrading and Plus net shouldn't even allow you to upgrade.

 

I wonder if they've actually switched you over to fibre at all or if you're still on standard ADSL.

Browni
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,950
Thanks: 633
Fixes: 42
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra Guarenteed 39.8Mb but only getting 5.2Mb

What are the estimated speeds from http://dslchecker.bt.com/  ?

I must have been really bad in a previous life. This is my 3rd ISP in a row that uses lithium.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 2,939
Thanks: 1,282
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra Guarenteed 39.8Mb but only getting 5.2Mb


jon wrote:

I wonder if they've actually switched you over to fibre at all or if you're still on standard ADSL.


From the OP

2. MAC Address:  

23. Modulation: G.993.2 Annex B

24. Software variant: AA

Gladstone
Rising Star
Posts: 54
Thanks: 14
Registered: 09-09-2017

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra Guarenteed 39.8Mb but only getting 5.2Mb

Heres the results from that page. Not sure where the Fibre is indicated though, it has a 1 against WBC fixed rate?

 

It seems to say the max is 4Mb (on ADSL I presume?) but we definitely used to get consistent speedtest.net results around 10Mb until the last week or so.

 

I have raised a fault ticket with PN, they've passed it to  "BOT - FTTC Logged Faults - Speed", so guess thats the department that will look into it further.

I thought I'd post my issues on here and update the post right through to the conclusion. 

 

 
BT BROADBAND AVAILABILITY CHECKER
Telephone Number on Exchange ABERDEEN BIELDSIDE is served by Cabinet 15

 

ADSL Products

Downstream Line Rate(Mbps)

Upstream Line Rate(Mbps)

Downstream Range(Mbps)

Availability Date

     

Left in Jumper

WBC ADSL 2+ Up to 2 -- 1.5 to 4 Available -- -- -- --
WBC ADSL 2+ Annex M Up to 2 Up to 0.5 1.5 to 4 Available -- -- -- --
ADSL Max Up to 1.5 -- 1 to 3.5 Available -- -- -- --
WBC Fixed Rate 1 -- -- Available -- -- -- --
Fixed Rate 1 -- -- Available -- -- -- --

Other Offerings

     

Availability Date

       
ADSL Multicast -- -- -- Available -- -- -- --

Premise environment

Status

Bridge Tap U              
VRI N              
NTEFaceplate N              
Last Test Date 19-05-2017
RealAleMadrid
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 652
Thanks: 239
Fixes: 10
Registered: 07-07-2009

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra Guarenteed 39.8Mb but only getting 5.2Mb

According to that checker page no FTTC service is available, which is strange considering you appear to be on a fibre connection. 

petecov23
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 6
Registered: 06-09-2017

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra Guarenteed 39.8Mb but only getting 5.2Mb

I was just about to say this but you beat me to it lol

 

Maybe it disappears on the line checker for the 10 days? The exchange does have FTTC but it's possible no NGA for cab 15 ? 

 

But if so how is the FTTC Modem talking to anything? 

 

Browni
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,950
Thanks: 633
Fixes: 42
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra Guarenteed 39.8Mb but only getting 5.2Mb

I didn't expect that!
I must have been really bad in a previous life. This is my 3rd ISP in a row that uses lithium.
bmc
Pro
Posts: 639
Thanks: 114
Fixes: 5
Registered: 28-02-2017

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra Guarenteed 39.8Mb but only getting 5.2Mb

Apart from stating the obvious that there's something wrong with the checker I can't find the Exchange on the CodeLook website though SamKnows does show it.

 

Brian

 

Edit : OP might want to try his own phone number in CodeLook

https://www.telecom-tariffs.co.uk/codelook.htm

Gladstone
Rising Star
Posts: 54
Thanks: 14
Registered: 09-09-2017

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra Guarenteed 39.8Mb but only getting 5.2Mb

Codelook results

The BP cabinet at the end of the road that leads to our house has a big white 15 on the front of it, so assume that's cabinet 15 that was previously referred to. It's about 0.5 mile away, assuming the wires are buried along the roadside all the way to our house. There's no poles until further up the road due to pylons.

 

codelock.jpg

 

bmc
Pro
Posts: 639
Thanks: 114
Fixes: 5
Registered: 28-02-2017

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra Guarenteed 39.8Mb but only getting 5.2Mb

OK, that explains why I couldn't find Bieldside - the Exchange is called Cults. Just to confirm you're in AB12 5**

 

If you do a "Lookup Locality" for Cults, click on the Exchange, then "All 19 Cabinets" and finally "Cabinet P15" you get a bit more details. Line distances are between 1.5 and 4km

 

Cab15 has a status of "FTTC Available from 15th April 2017"

 

Brian

 

 Edit : The locality is Cults, the Exchange is named as Aberdeen Bieldside

Gladstone
Rising Star
Posts: 54
Thanks: 14
Registered: 09-09-2017

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra Guarenteed 39.8Mb but only getting 5.2Mb

Now THAT is weird, as this is a copy/paste from the email I received when they arranged an Openreach engineer to install a new faceplate and activate the line;

 

We can confirm that the date for activation of services at the new premises is 10/04/17 AM please ensure someone is at the premises to allow access for the engineer. 

It's possible we've never had FTTC despite paying for it all that time.. would explain the ADSL like speeds.. I'm confused Shocked

 

 

Browni
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,950
Thanks: 633
Fixes: 42
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra Guarenteed 39.8Mb but only getting 5.2Mb

Unfortunately line 23 in the helpdesk stats shows a VDSL connection so this problem definitely needs staff input.
I must have been really bad in a previous life. This is my 3rd ISP in a row that uses lithium.
Gladstone
Rising Star
Posts: 54
Thanks: 14
Registered: 09-09-2017

Re: Unlimited Fibre Extra Guarenteed 39.8Mb but only getting 5.2Mb

There's a support ticket active, so I'll post back the results when I have them.