cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

University of Cambridge VPN connectivity issues.

nec10
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: a week ago

University of Cambridge VPN connectivity issues.

My work VPN (https://help.uis.cam.ac.uk/service/apps-desktops/remote-access/uis-vpn)  recently stopped working from home.

 

I have seen other posts on this forum regarding 146.x.x.x IP ex-American addresses and can confirm I have one of those.

I'm using the windows and android built in VPN software and it works when connected elsewhere, so there is no issue with my settings.

 

Has something changed recently to break this functionality?

 

Thanks,

 

Nick

7 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,505
Thanks: 1,022
Fixes: 200
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: University of Cambridge VPN connectivity issues.

Hi @nec10,

 

I've discussed this with @scrookes and we've reached out to the university to investigate this further and work towards a resolution. However, in the meantime I've added a static IP to your account temporarily to try and work around the issue.

 

If you disconnect and reconnect your router, you should re-connect on the static IP.

 

I hope this helps.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Help Team
nec10
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: a week ago

Re: University of Cambridge VPN connectivity issues.

Hi

 

I can confirm it's all working now :-)

 

Was it to do with my IP? - it's now in the 80.x.x.x range as it used to be.

 

 

The vpn guys here couldn't even see any traffic getting to them before - when it was on the old IP.

 

Thanks,

 

Nick

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,505
Thanks: 1,022
Fixes: 200
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: University of Cambridge VPN connectivity issues.

Glad to hear that's working on the temporary static IP.

 

Between us and the University we should be able to work towards resolving the root cause of the problem whether that's on our side or theirs, before we remove the static IP.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Help Team
nec10
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: a week ago

Re: University of Cambridge VPN connectivity issues.

I now seem to have another problem. I'm paying for 80mb but only getting 0.5mb tonight. Is there another issue now?
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,666
Thanks: 1,558
Fixes: 37
Registered: ‎16-10-2014

Re: University of Cambridge VPN connectivity issues.

@nec10 - Where are you getting this number from? If you have done a speed test with your VPN connected it may well be the limitation of this that you are seeing. Try doing a speed check with the VPN off then on to see if this is the case.

nec10
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: a week ago

Re: University of Cambridge VPN connectivity issues.

Hi

 

Running speedtest .net app on my android phone/tablet/windows PCs - normally get at least 20Mb - I haven't seen speeds that slow since I had to replace the previous buggy plusnet router a couple of years ago.

 

I'll test again tonight when I get back home.

 

Thanks,

 

Nick

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 223
Thanks: 66
Fixes: 16
Registered: ‎24-04-2017

Re: University of Cambridge VPN connectivity issues.

Hi @nec10, sorry to hear you're having speed issues.

Checking your connection from this side and looking at the results below we can see 44.4Mbps download and 14.3Mbps upload getting to the router however this is below the estimates for your line with signs pointed out in orange that the sync speed has been changing/dropping recently.

Test Outcome Pass
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0000
Description GEA service test completed and no fault found .
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 44.4 Mbps
Upstream Speed 14.3 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised N
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Pass
Bridge Tap Not Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Estimated Line Length In Metres 568.3
Upstream Rate Assessment Reasonable
Downstream Rate Assessment Low
Interference Pattern Not Detected
Service Impact No Impact Observed
Home Wiring Problem Not Detected
Downstream Policing Discard Rate 0.0
Customer Traffic Level Upstream and Downstream Traffic Detected
Technology VDSL
Profile Name 0.128M-80M Downstream, Retransmission Low - 0.128M-15M Upstream, Retransmission High
Time Stamp 2018-11-24T14:45:00
Parameters MIN MAX AVG
Down Stream Line Rate 44.4 Mbps 48.8 Mbps 46.5 Mbps
Up Stream Line Rate 14.9 Mbps 15.0 Mbps 14.9 Mbps
Up Time 796.0 Sec 900.0 Sec 899.7 Sec
Retrains 0.0 1.0 0.0
Current and Last 15 Minute Bin Performance
Parameters Last Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins) Current Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins)
Start Time Stamp 2018-12-07T14:10:17Z 2018-12-07T14:25:17Z
Ingress Code Violation 0 0
Egress Code Violation 0 0
Errored Seconds 0 0
Severely Errored Seconds 0 0
Unavailable Seconds 0 0

 

Featured Products

Downstream Line Rate(Mbps)

Upstream Line Rate(Mbps)

Downstream Handback Threshold(Mbps)

WBC FTTC Availability Date

WBC SOGEA Availability Date

Left in Jumper

  High Low High Low        
VDSL Range A (Clean) 72 50.7 20 14.3 45 Available Available --





From our side the above results highlight something out of place somewhere given the sync speeds are below your estimates although when testing nothing is showing apparent as the cause of the lower speeds. It also doesn't explain the 0.5Mbps speeds you were seeing on your side when testing either unless this test was done over wireless? Or with something running in the background?

Either way, moving forwards so we can begin to rule out a few things that may be causing this  I'd advise following the steps below and begin troubleshooting the lower speeds:

I'd recommend starting with basic checks here: http://goo.gl/p2tpvL

And if that doesn't help the next thing would be to rule your internal wiring out by plugging the connection into your test socket which is under the face plate of your master socket and seeing if the speeds return within the estimates. This rules out internal wiring, face plates and extension sockets as being the cause. How to locate the test socket and set your connection into it can be found here:
https://community.plus.net/t5/Library/Testing-From-The-Master-Socket/ba-p/1322242

If the problem still persists from here we will go down the route of raising a fault. Let us know how it goes.

 Ben Devine
 Plusnet Help Team