cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to upgrade to Fibre Extra to get higher upload

theberaneks
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 15-09-2016

Unable to upgrade to Fibre Extra to get higher upload

6 months ago I moved from BT Broadband to Plusnet.

 

On BT Broadband I was on Infinity 1, and got around 30Mbps down/7-8Mbps up.

 

After I switched to Plusnet I realised that they restrict the standard "Fibre" package to 2Mbps up.

I just got onto Customer Services to see if I could upgrade to Fibre Extra, and they have told me that I can't have Fibre Extra because my line quality isn't good enough.

Is there any way to get around this?

 

(Seriously annoyed, as if this isn't sorted I'm stuck with Plusnet and the 2Mbps upload limit for another 12 months)

 

5 REPLIES
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,531
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Unable to upgrade to Fibre Extra to get higher upload

https://www.dslchecker.bt.com/  what does it say here ?  when you put your phone number in

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
theberaneks
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 15-09-2016

Re: Unable to upgrade to Fibre Extra to get higher upload

broadband.png

 

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,568
Thanks: 176
Fixes: 2
Registered: 27-05-2011

Re: Unable to upgrade to Fibre Extra to get higher upload

I feel your pain because I get 30/7 from Plusnet! I was on a legacy 40/20 product since it came out and am now on 50/10 courtesy or PN but they won't sell it to more recent customers. Crazy Crazy

To do is to be - Neitzsche
To be is to do - Kant
do be do be do - Sinatra
theberaneks
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 15-09-2016

Re: Unable to upgrade to Fibre Extra to get higher upload

Also:

 

broadband2.png

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,531
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Unable to upgrade to Fibre Extra to get higher upload

yes unfortunately you cannot get any better connection than you have now Sad

You could get a better upload but PN caps it to 2 max ,

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .