cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to connect

Corrn12
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Unable to connect

For the past few hours other than a couple of 30 second blips of connection I have been unable to use the internet.
Power light has been flashing orange almost constantly, will turn solid orange now and again for the broadband light to flash instead, or both solid orange then back to nothing but a flashing orange power light.
Can't remember the last time I've had any disconnections and has been briefly reconnecting for 30 seconds to a minute a few times during the problem but almost constant downtime.
A family member living on the same street has told me their connection is fine.
Already in master socket, tried test socket within and nothing changed.
Tried to use the broadband fault checker using the troubleshooter link in my account but of course it's down for maintenance and the link on that page to find out when it will be back online takes me to Plusnet service status which states there is nothing wrong anywhere and the last issue with the fault checker is January 2018. https://www.plus.net/apps/kbdfaults
12 REPLIES 12
Corrn12
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Re: Unable to connect

Persisting all day today as well, same thing.
Baldrick1
Hero
Posts: 3,080
Thanks: 1,323
Fixes: 85
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Unable to connect

Does your telephone work? If not you need to report a phone fault and get this fixed first.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,385
Thanks: 4,126
Fixes: 665
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Unable to connect

Hi there.

I'm sorry to see you're experiencing connection problems and you were unable to report a fault last night due to maintenance that was carried out. I've had a look at your connection and things definitely don't look good over the past 24 hours:

image1565540106194

I've tested your line and we're seeing a high resistance fault, as you've tried the master/test socket you've ruled out your internal wiring but before we go down the path of reporting the fault/booking an engineer, I think it'd be a good idea to check the router is in good working order as a call out charge may be applied if the issue is due to internal equipment. Do you have another router you can try? If you don't that's fine, just let us know and we'll be happy to send out a replacement.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Corrn12
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Re: Unable to connect

Hi, thanks for your reply and checking the connection/testing the line for me.

I do not have another router to try, only ever had the one sent to me when I joined Plusnet. So sending one to see if that solves the problem would be great.

Thanks again
Corrn12
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Re: Unable to connect

Hi again

Managed to borrow a router but it was your model 2704N which stated it was incompatible with fiber without an openreach router. However I used their adsl filter with my original router and for the last 45 minutes or so it has been connected.
Whether this is the solution or it's another one of the longer blocks of connectivity shown in your image I should have checked this earlier. Will update again later tomorrow and hopefully this simple thing I overlooked was the fix.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,385
Thanks: 4,126
Fixes: 665
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Unable to connect

Hiya @Corrn12 

That's cool no problem, it's good to see your connection up since 23:04 last night bar 1 drop at 02:12. Thumbs Up

It's not very often a microfilter develops a fault so it's easily overlooked. Having said that we're still detecting a high resistance fault which would likely be causing issues of some sort even though we're not seeing solid drops today.

The Hub Zero/2704N is compatible with fibre by toggling it between standard broadband and fibre in the router settings at 192.168.1.254 but you're right in that you'd need a fibre modem behind it like an Openreach modem.

I've just arranged to send you a replacement Hub One now, let us know once you've got it and we'll retest your line.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Corrn12
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Re: Unable to connect

Connection has been solid again today so internet perfectly usable again.
May have been a good thing the microfilter became faulty in that case as it lead to the discovery of another problem and was easily fixed itself.

Thank you for arranging the router delivery, I have had confirmation it is dispatched and will let you know as soon as it is set up.

Thanks again for all your help so far.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,385
Thanks: 4,126
Fixes: 665
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Unable to connect

Cool sounds good and no problem.

Let us know how it goes.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Corrn12
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Re: Unable to connect

New router is set up and connected. Has been fine for a couple of hours so ready to test.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 932
Thanks: 98
Fixes: 40
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Unable to connect

Hey @Corrn12,

Thanks for getting back to us.

Glad to hear that routers up and running with no issues so far. Your connection log is showing no drops bar 1 at 12 this afternoon - I'm guessing this may have been when you connected the new router?

 

 

I have conducted further testing and its still throwing back a potential joint issue which would need an engineer visit - I've created a ticket for you over the account here. Once you have replied can you give us a nudge here so we can progress the fault.

 

Thanks.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Maddy S
 Plusnet Help Team


Corrn12
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Re: Unable to connect

Yes that was when I connected the new router that arrived, good to see no more drops other than that.

 

I have replied to the ticket you opened as requested.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,413
Thanks: 248
Fixes: 48
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Unable to connect

Hi @Corrn12 

 

I have replied to the ticket on your account. 

 

Please review it and provide the information requested. 

 

Kind Regards, 

MoR

Moderator's note by Dick (Strat): Typos corrected.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 MoR
 Plusnet Help Team