cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to access google.com

FIXED
srb
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎29-07-2015

Unable to access google.com

Edit: Solved by resetting router to factory settings.

I tried to upload a 50 MB file to a website about 4 times, after my connection kept dropping near the end of the upload (a recurring problem by the way). Then finally my router seemed to disconnect. Took about 20 minutes for it to start working again.

After it started working, I tried to upload again to no avail.

Even more worrying though is that google.com doesn't load. Nor do any of the plusnet websites. I'm typing this from the tor browser. Some websites work, such as reddit and bing.

I tried changing my DNS in my connection settings (because the HubOne doesn't provide a way to change DNS settings) to google's public DNS and OpenDNS, neither of which helped.

So I'm wondering what I could possibly do to fix this.

11 REPLIES
PhyllisTyne
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 612
Thanks: 38
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎30-08-2007

Re: Unable to access google.com

I seem to remember having a similar problem but it was specific to Chrome browser. I reset the browser and it went away.

srb
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎29-07-2015

Re: Unable to access google.com

Just tried Firefox, doesn't work.

PhyllisTyne
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 612
Thanks: 38
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎30-08-2007

Re: Unable to access google.com

Is it the same for other devices on the network?

srb
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎29-07-2015

Re: Unable to access google.com

Yep

PhyllisTyne
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 612
Thanks: 38
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎30-08-2007

Re: Unable to access google.com

Fix

I would probably reset my router at this stage but others more knowledgeable will probably be along to offer advice.

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎18-02-2013

Re: Unable to access google.com

which router?

Could try from a command promt: ipconfig /flushdns

https://www.whatsmydns.net/flush-dns.html

srb
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎29-07-2015

Re: Unable to access google.com

Using plusnet HubOne. flushdns didn't help

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎18-02-2013

Re: Unable to access google.com

what output you getting from pathping ?

pathping google.co.uk

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎18-02-2013

Re: Unable to access google.com

Or use..

nslookup google.co.uk

to see whats going on.

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎18-02-2013

Re: Unable to access google.com

also snag dnsbench nice little tool to to see what gives dns wise... my router does sometimes go bad after being up a good while, so yes a re-boot sometimes does work. But If you wish to try figure out why the dns isn't working use the tips above.

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,674
Thanks: 661
Fixes: 165
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Unable to access google.com

Had you made any changes within the router prior to factory resetting it? I'm just wondering if there was a setting that caused this or just gremlins.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff