cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to access admin area of router

Shutty666
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 20-08-2009

Unable to access admin area of router

Hi all.
I am currently unable to even get to the landing page of my router on my PC. I can access it from my mobile and a laptop but not from my desktop. All i get is the waiting for 192.168.1.254 to respond. Any clues as to what is going on?
Thanks in advance
9 REPLIES
dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: 24-02-2015

Re: Unable to access admin area of router

Sounds most odd.
Really I've no idea but I have two things I go to on the internet and found not all browsers are compatible with them so it is clutching at straws can you try another browser?
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png
Shutty666
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 20-08-2009

Re: Unable to access admin area of router

Yep weird isn't it. I've tried chrome and firefox. Really don't want to go and try internet explorer or edge (shudder).....
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,555
Thanks: 260
Fixes: 33
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Unable to access admin area of router

Are you connected to the router? If so how? Tried rebooting the PC and or router? Which router is it?
ian007jen
Rising Star
Posts: 392
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 2
Registered: 06-09-2007

Re: Unable to access admin area of router

Make sure the desktop is connected to the router via ethernet....no powerline adapters...(spawn of the devil)
Shutty666
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 20-08-2009

Re: Unable to access admin area of router

Desktop is connected directly to the router (Technicolour TG582n) via an ethernet cable. I've already tried resetting them both to no avail. Any other suggestions?
BrightonRock1
Grafter
Posts: 28
Registered: 29-10-2014

Re: Unable to access admin area of router

Never come across this sort of problem.
How about trying the cable from your desktop into a different socket on the router? Or trying by cable from your laptop? Or a different cable from the desktop?
cedlor
Grafter
Posts: 687
Thanks: 2
Registered: 02-04-2015

Re: Unable to access admin area of router

You cant connect to the landing page but can you connect to the internet?
From a command prompt run ipconfig /all  and see what comes up as the default gateway.
notmyname
Rising Star
Posts: 85
Thanks: 23
Registered: 20-03-2016

Re: Unable to access admin area of router

You mention that you are able to connect to the router from other devices?  Could you try logging into the router using a mobile browser and disabling "Web browsing interception"
From the left,  Technicolor gateway --- Configuration.  Then the top right corner hit "configure".
Shutty666
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 20-08-2009

Re: Unable to access admin area of router

OK thanks for the suggestions guys.
The default gateway is set to 192.168.1.254 as I believe it should be.
I have also tried changing the Web Browsing Interruption to disabled too. Still no joy.
Any other thoughts?