cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

URGENT HELP TL-WDR3600 Router low speeds

adam1240
Grafter
Posts: 34
Registered: 03-12-2014

URGENT HELP TL-WDR3600 Router low speeds

Hello, i recently got a TP link TL-WDR3600 n600 Router, everything connected fine, but my internet speeds suppose to be 40MB Download and 20 Upload, i'm only getting  this: http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4043716633

Can someone who knows or own one of these routers tell me if they had this problem and how to fix it?
I'm using a Powerline Adapter, but also on Wifi next to router im getting same speeds, the plusnet provided one gave me over 35+ MB so something isin't right.
Used PPOE to assign everything.
29 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 4
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: URGENT HELP TL-WDR3600 Router low speeds

Are your network cards/cables running at 10Mb or 100Mb - that figure looks a bit like a 10Mb connection over the network.
adam1240
Grafter
Posts: 34
Registered: 03-12-2014

Re: URGENT HELP TL-WDR3600 Router low speeds

what you mean? i had no issues with and cables or network before i changed the router all ran  top speeds that plusnet allowed me.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 4
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: URGENT HELP TL-WDR3600 Router low speeds

A Gigabit network card can have 6 modes, 10 / 100 / 1000Mb/s plus full duplex on the afore mentioned speeds (20/200/2000). If a device is misbehaving or a cable is faulty, the connection will lower to a lower rate. Total stab in the dark but worth considering.
Have you tried hooking your PC directly up to an Ethernet port on the router ? If you get a slow speed through that then you may have a connection issue. If you get a faster speed then you potentially have a wireless issue although getting the slower speed through a homeplug as well would tend to rule that out.
Is it just one machine you've tried the speed test on or do you have access (or can you borrow) another machine to rule that out ?
adam1240
Grafter
Posts: 34
Registered: 03-12-2014

Re: URGENT HELP TL-WDR3600 Router low speeds

I tried multiple Device's phone/laptop/pc through Wirless and Ethernet, before i changed router i had no issues, so can't be the network or network port, it's going to be the Router setting's or something.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 4
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: URGENT HELP TL-WDR3600 Router low speeds

Have you tried a PPPoE connection directly to the modem from a PC bypassing the router ?
http://community.plus.net/library/broadband/fibre-help-how-to-set-up-a-pppoe-dialler-in-vistawindows...
adam1240
Grafter
Posts: 34
Registered: 03-12-2014

Re: URGENT HELP TL-WDR3600 Router low speeds

What would doing that achieve? means i have to do it on all setting and be a massive hassel, shouldin't need to do this for a Router i brought
how important is it to try it..
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 4
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: URGENT HELP TL-WDR3600 Router low speeds

Well if you do a temporary PPPoE for the PC, give it a test on the BT Modem then get the same results you can rule out the router.
If you get the same speeds then you need to report it as a fault. If you get better speeds you can then look at the potential issues with the router.
adam1240
Grafter
Posts: 34
Registered: 03-12-2014

Re: URGENT HELP TL-WDR3600 Router low speeds

Hi, thanks for that comment, but seem like to much issue to try that considering my PC's all the way upstairs and can't move it around, any other advice?
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 4
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: URGENT HELP TL-WDR3600 Router low speeds

Try the old router back in and see if that cures the issue ? Have you tried a reboot of the current router ?
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 4
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: URGENT HELP TL-WDR3600 Router low speeds

Re-reading your original post, you're "using PPPoE" to assign everything ?
You would normally just set up the PPPoE connection on the routers WAN port then use NAT internally through the router. Only one device should be accessing the BT Modem through PPPoE and that is normally the router.
adam1240
Grafter
Posts: 34
Registered: 03-12-2014

Re: URGENT HELP TL-WDR3600 Router low speeds

i basically got the router, plugged everything in, then i input the PPOE username and password for my Plusnet, then internet worked with 10MB max speeds. i don't get what you mean about what you said, sorry.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 4
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: URGENT HELP TL-WDR3600 Router low speeds

Ok - so if the router has the only PPPoE username / password then it should be fine.
Have you tried swapping it back to the Plusnet Provided router yet ? This will be one of the first things the Customer Support may ask you to try before troubleshooting further.
adam1240
Grafter
Posts: 34
Registered: 03-12-2014

Re: URGENT HELP TL-WDR3600 Router low speeds

I'll try it quickly now, but it should go straight bk to full speed
adam1240
Grafter
Posts: 34
Registered: 03-12-2014

Re: URGENT HELP TL-WDR3600 Router low speeds

Goes back to high speeds again.