cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Two fold - ‘can’t connect to WiFi’ & new router

Hollandv001
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎28-12-2020

Two fold - ‘can’t connect to WiFi’ & new router

My internet will not allow some devices to connect and keeps saying ‘can’t connect to internet’ - this is happening on android phone, iPhones, a laptop & HP printer? Is there a limit to the number of devices that can be connected by WiFi?

Recently changed from Sky to Plusnet all the devices previously connected no issues?

If I buy a better quality router would this solve it? Any suggestions for replacement router?

Thanks in advance.
8 REPLIES 8
LifeonMars
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 403
Thanks: 136
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎07-04-2016

Re: Two fold - ‘can’t connect to WiFi’ & new router

Try changing channel in router settings and possibly switching 5GHz off or 2.4GHz until connected depending which frequency the item you are trying to connect functions.

paul_blitz
Rising Star
Posts: 121
Thanks: 32
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎20-07-2016

Re: Two fold - ‘can’t connect to WiFi’ & new router

Do you have standard Broadband, that comes with a small Sagecom 2704 router (label on bottom) - if so there's a known limitation of 16 wifi devices: could this be your issue?

If it is, then you need to raise a call on plusnet and ask them for one of the better Plusnet Hub 1 routers: or buy your own / add a another WiFi access point

Hollandv001
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎28-12-2020

Re: Two fold - ‘can’t connect to WiFi’ & new router

It’s a sagecom CS50001, 92847 whatever that means?! Is that a small one?
Thanks for replying!
Hollandv001
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎28-12-2020

Re: Two fold - ‘can’t connect to WiFi’ & new router

Thanks - but, I have no idea how to do that? Is it easy?
How would I go that from a phone and printer?
Thank you Smiley
Thrall
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 568
Thanks: 115
Fixes: 23
Registered: ‎28-09-2020

Re: Two fold - ‘can’t connect to WiFi’ & new router

If you’ve got fibre broadband I suspect you’ll have a Hub One. Of the 3 routers shown here https://www.plus.net/help/broadband/router-setup-guides/ which one does yours look like?

Hollandv001
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎28-12-2020

Re: Two fold - ‘can’t connect to WiFi’ & new router

Yes, it’s a hub one. Is it worth buying my own - would that help?
Any suggestions as to best one to buy pls
Thanks
Thrall
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 568
Thanks: 115
Fixes: 23
Registered: ‎28-09-2020

Re: Two fold - ‘can’t connect to WiFi’ & new router

paul_blitz
Rising Star
Posts: 121
Thanks: 32
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎20-07-2016

Re: Two fold - ‘can’t connect to WiFi’ & new router

<deleted>