cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Throttling?

oxigin82
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: 31-10-2016

Throttling?

Hi All, 

 

Has anyone else noticed a massive drop in download speeds during "peak" hours?

 

 

I'd normally have a speed of 70+ meg - Now i'm getting the attached Sad I noticed something was up last week and decided to check the speed when I got home form work

 

Ran a speed check at around 6ish and all seem good at 74mg checked again now and super slow can only assume some form of throttling is happening on my line? 

Thanks

28 REPLIES
Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,280
Thanks: 775
Fixes: 45
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: Throttling?

Wireless interference?

I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
oxigin82
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: 31-10-2016

Re: Throttling?

It can't be - It was fine at 6 pm and one of the wireless devices has left the house 

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,280
Thanks: 775
Fixes: 45
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: Throttling?

Why not?

My next door neighbour's WiFi knocks mine out at times.

I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
oxigin82
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: 31-10-2016

Re: Throttling?

The timings and speed drops seem a little to consistent for it to be that and would wifi interference really drop 50+ meg off of a download speed?

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 931
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Throttling?

Could you run a test wired.

Also could you run the Thinkbroadband speed test which does indicate if contention is an issue.

http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest.html

jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
oxigin82
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: 31-10-2016

Re: Throttling?

Ran the test again after midnight and the results are very different.. (attached) 

DL: 73.55mg

UL: 17.17mg

Ping: 23.25

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 931
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Throttling?

Please run the thinkbroadband test when it is going slow. If the single threaded download is still slow but the multi-threaded is far better that points to congestion either at the exchange or upstream from there to Plusnet.

If someone from Plusnet sees this can they check the status of the exchange please.

jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,665
Thanks: 658
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Throttling?

There are a number of RED vlans at your exchange, which many be causing some issues. I can also see that when we test the phone line it's reporting a potential issue with the copper line itself.

 

If the speeds continue to dip in the evening, I'd advise getting this reported to us as a fault at https://faults.plus.net

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
oxigin82
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: 31-10-2016

Re: Throttling?

Thanks Chris - I've just had a live chat with BT and surprise they are proclaiming the line looks fine Angry .. Which is clearly different to what you're seeing. 

 

Is there anyway of me running these tests to supply this to BT? Or are you able to supply the results?

Thanks

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,665
Thanks: 658
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Throttling?

It doesn't give us specifics as we can't directly test the phone line.

 

What I would suggest is if they are saying they can't find a fault, get one reported to us and we can see if the VLAN you're on is on that's heavily utilised.  Use the link in my previous post and give us a shout when you've reported it.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
oxigin82
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: 31-10-2016

Re: Throttling?

Thanks Chris - I've just reported the issue 

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 931
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Throttling?


oxigin82 wrote:

Thanks Chris - I've just had a live chat with BT and surprise they are proclaiming the line looks fine Angry .. Which is clearly different to what you're seeing.

Not at all different - your line could be absolutely perfect and capable of FTTP speeds (330Mbps), but if there isn't enough capacity on the links from the exchange to the next point upstream on the BT network (the VLAN) you will see slowdowns when a lot of others on the same VLAN are using the internet.


 

jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,665
Thanks: 658
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Throttling?

That's great, thanks.

 

As I though, the SVLAN you're on is showing as RED (high utlilisation) and was actually due to be fixed at the start of this week. Our faults team will follow that up and see if there is a new fix date.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
oxigin82
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: 31-10-2016

Re: Throttling?


jelv wrote:

oxigin82 wrote:

Thanks Chris - I've just had a live chat with BT and surprise they are proclaiming the line looks fine Angry .. Which is clearly different to what you're seeing.

Not at all different - your line could be absolutely perfect and capable of FTTP speeds (330Mbps), but if there isn't enough capacity on the links from the exchange to the next point upstream on the BT network (the VLAN) you will see slowdowns when a lot of others on the same VLAN are using the internet.


 


But shouldn't BT be able to identify the same problems Chris has seen? If they ran the same checks?