cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Think i may have a faulty router.

Hooked
Posts: 9
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎25-12-2018

Think i may have a faulty router.

Been with plusnet since saturday, every few hours wifi become indiscoverable and router disconnects from internet and restarts or i have to manually restart. Becoming annoying now.
11 REPLIES 11
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,177
Thanks: 1,453
Fixes: 254
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: Think i may have a faulty router.

Welcome to the community forums @Dave81, sorry to hear you're experiencing problems with your router.

 

Do you only experience the problems on Wi-Fi or do you lose the connection on wired devices at the same time?

Could you also confirm if this happens across all devices trying to search for the router over Wi-Fi.

 

Thanks.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Infrastructure Operations Professional
Hooked
Posts: 9
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎25-12-2018

Re: Think i may have a faulty router.

It takes the wired devices longer to be disconnected. The only way i know its going off is my phone and tablet both lose the router and when searching it says out of range. Eventually it either resets itself or i have to reset it.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,177
Thanks: 1,453
Fixes: 254
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: Think i may have a faulty router.

If you haven't already done so, it may be worth splitting off the 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz frequencies in the router.

A helpful post explaining how to do this can be found Here.

 

If you connect to 2.4Ghz as opposed to 5Ghz, you may see a drop in wifi speed, however I have seen people in the past mention problems with devices dropping the connection to the router when flipping between the two frequencies when they're both synced up together.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Infrastructure Operations Professional
Hooked
Posts: 9
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎25-12-2018

Re: Think i may have a faulty router.

Ok tried the fix. Didnt work.still lost wi fi then broadband connection yesterday evening. On another development woke up this morning to find a orange power light and a flashing red broadband light, i left it but it didnt reset itself. Went into hub manager tried to connect to broadband with no luck.went through the steps that hub manager suggested and ended up at point where it advised me to call a number. As i have to be at work this morning i didnt have time so i restarted the router by disconnecting the power for 30 seconds. Begold a couple of mins later im connected to broadband again. Lets see how long the router decides its going to stay connected for this time.
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,149
Fixes: 76
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Think i may have a faulty router.

Hi @Dave81,

 

As a precaution I'm going to replace the router to make sure this isn't the cause of the problem. It should be with you in a couple of days (bank holidays depending). 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Joe
 Plusnet Help Team
Hooked
Posts: 9
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎25-12-2018

Re: Think i may have a faulty router.

Ok not the router. I dont think.same problem as described above and every morning when i get up i have to reset the router because it cuts out overnight.Cut out on me watching now tv last night. I have no clue what it could be now. I have a xbox one wired in and on the wifi i have 2 tablets, 2 iphones and an ipod.
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,149
Fixes: 76
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Think i may have a faulty router.

Hi @Dave81,

 

What firmware is on this new router (and the old router if you can get it - no worries if it's a pain, though). You can find it under troubleshooting and then helpdesk in the router config pages (192.168.1.254 to get there). 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Joe
 Plusnet Help Team
Hooked
Posts: 9
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎25-12-2018

Re: Think i may have a faulty router.

Apparently its 4.7.5.1.83.8.259
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,325
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎09-10-2018

Re: Think i may have a faulty router.

Hi @Dave81, thanks for your post.

 

On checking your line we can see the below:

 

GEA Test Detail
Circuit ID REDACTED Service ID REDACTED
 
 
Test Outcome Fail
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_1615
Description Potential HR Joint or wet joint detected on GEA Service. Please continue to submit a trouble report
Main Fault Location CE
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 76.3 Mbps
Upstream Speed 20.0 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised Y
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Pass
Bridge Tap Not Detected
Radio Frequency Ingress Not Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Cross Talk Not Detected
Estimated Line Length In Metres 286.5
Upstream Rate Assessment Low
Downstream Rate Assessment Low
Interference Pattern Regular Interference Observed on Weekends
Service Impact Retrains Observed
Interference Duration Longest Occurrence From 14:00 to 14:15
Interference Location Unknown
Interference Observed In Days 2
Home Wiring Problem Not Detected
Downstream Policing Discard Rate 0.0
Customer Traffic Level Upstream and Downstream Traffic Detected
Technology VDSL
Profile Name 0.128M-40M Downstream, Interleaving Low - 0.128M-10M Upstream, Error Protection Off
Time Stamp 2018-12-17T16:15:00
Parameters MIN MAX AVG
Down Stream Line Rate 26.5 Mbps 79.9 Mbps 56.9 Mbps
Up Stream Line Rate 0.1 Mbps 20.0 Mbps 12.7 Mbps
Up Time 733.0 Sec 900.0 Sec 898.8 Sec
Retrains 0.0 20.0 0.0
Current and Last 15 Minute Bin Performance
Parameters Last Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins) Current Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins)
Start Time Stamp 2018-12-30T15:45:59Z 2018-12-30T16:00:59Z
Ingress Code Violation 0 0
Egress Code Violation 0 0
Errored Seconds 0 0
Severely Errored Seconds 0 0
Unavailable Seconds 0 0

 

Due to the above results we've raised a fault with Openreach and now expect an update within the next 3 working days, at which point we'll contact you directly.

 

You'll receive notification that we've opened a question on your account shortly - At this point we don't need a reply to it, it's merely our process.

 

Please don't hesitate to get back in touch should you need anything else in the meantime.

Hooked
Posts: 9
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎25-12-2018

Re: Think i may have a faulty router.

Oh wow, thanks for testing! I really thought it was the route. Smiley
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,325
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎09-10-2018

Re: Think i may have a faulty router.

Hi @Dave81, it's often the way with these things.

 

Whilst I, of course, can't guarantee that we won't find there to be an issue with the router at some point, it certainly seems as though this fault is the cause of your issues.

 

Please let us know if you need any further help in the meantime.