cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The BTOR engineer didn't arrive!!!!!!

FIXED
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,294
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 4
Registered: 22-06-2012

The BTOR engineer didn't arrive!!!!!!

I've waited in all morning for my promised BTOR engineer to come & fix my slow broadband fault & guess what, NO ENGINEER!!!Angry

12 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,962
Thanks: 1,759
Fixes: 135
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: The BTOR engineer didn't arrive!!!!!!

They may well have found the problem at the cabinet or exchange and have no need to visit your premises.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Gel
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,591
Thanks: 163
Fixes: 14
Registered: 02-08-2007

Re: The BTOR engineer didn't arrive!!!!!!

They have zero concern for user's time, but will impose penalty if you're not in

for an O/R Engineer appointment.

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,294
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 4
Registered: 22-06-2012

Re: The BTOR engineer didn't arrive!!!!!!

Hopefully he'll magically appear on Monday afternoon! Thanks to K in customer service for your help.

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,294
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 4
Registered: 22-06-2012

Re: The BTOR engineer didn't arrive!!!!!!

Thanks Strat, so why do I still have the fault, as confirmed just now by PNHuh?

Shep41
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 157
Thanks: 46
Fixes: 1
Registered: 31-05-2017

Re: The BTOR engineer didn't arrive!!!!!!

Maybe us customers should charge BTOR £65 for a missed appointment. They charge us if we miss their appointments. Or is it one rule for us and one rule for themHuh?
notmyname
Rising Star
Posts: 85
Thanks: 23
Registered: 20-03-2016

Re: The BTOR engineer didn't arrive!!!!!!

Openreach don't charge you for a missed appointment, Plusnet, Sky, talk talk ect do.
Baldrick1
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,564
Thanks: 669
Fixes: 52
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: The BTOR engineer didn't arrive!!!!!!


@Shep41 wrote:
. Or is it one rule for us and one rule for themHuh?

In a word - Yes. Unfair contract terms, what's that?

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,294
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 4
Registered: 22-06-2012

Re: The BTOR engineer didn't arrive!!!!!!

This morning (Sunday) my internet disconnected 6 times in just a few hours. As you may assume I'm not happy!!!Crazy3

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,294
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 4
Registered: 22-06-2012

Re: The BTOR engineer didn't arrive!!!!!!

The engineer arrived unannounced at lunch time & did some work at the cabinet & also repaired a faulty wire connection outside my property. Unfortunately, this didn't fix the fault. He then tried to run a special BT test facility but this was out of action.

 

He left after 3 hours & will return first thing tomorrow morning. Onwards & upwards.....hopefully.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 417
Thanks: 119
Fixes: 16
Registered: 11-01-2018

Re: The BTOR engineer didn't arrive!!!!!!

 

Hi and thanks for getting in touch.

 

I'm sorry that the engineer didn't attend when expected and has been unable to fix the issue so far. I'm pleased to hear that he has arranged to reattend your property first thing today.

 

Please keep us informed - we're happy to liase with our suppliers on your behalf if required.

 

Best wishes,

 

Dave

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Dave G
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,294
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 4
Registered: 22-06-2012

Re: The BTOR engineer didn't arrive!!!!!!

The engineer returned this morning & after a lot more testing through BT he decided to phone Plusnet who told him that my line was capped. The cap was removed & now all is working correctly. 

 

For my future information, is it the norm that when there is a fault PN will automatically cap the line? If so, I'll remember it for any future problems because this engineer wasn't aware.

 

That apart, I'm absolutely delighted at the way this has been resolved. Thank you all. Smiley

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 417
Thanks: 119
Fixes: 16
Registered: 11-01-2018

Re: The BTOR engineer didn't arrive!!!!!!

Fix

 

Hi and thanks for coming back to me so quickly.

 

It's absolutely not the norm that the line is capped when there is a fault, however, the software on the line may have done this in an attempt to stablise your connection - clearly this didn't work!

 

I'm really pleased to hear that his is sorted. Thank you so much for your patience whilst we got this resolved.

 

If there's anything else that we can help with, please don't hesitate to get in touch.

 

Best wishes,

 

Dave

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Dave G
 Plusnet Help Team