cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Temp speed increaes.

keyholder
Grafter
Posts: 76
Thanks: 2
Registered: 06-05-2015

Temp speed increaes.

Do  or will Plusnet increase speed for a trial time period for people who are able to get faster speeds to test their connection at the faster speeds to see if its reliable enough for them or not?Huh
Lets use my connection for example.
Im on 40/20, I sync at 33,  BTW say my lines capable of 56mb down ( top speed ) With no bridge taps ( as per internal checks ) in place, Could we ask / test for a faster speed ( at cost obviously ). If the line becomes less stable / unreliable We could drop back down.. If all is well We could then carry on paying for the new speed.
11 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Temp speed increaes.

If you're syncing at 33 Mb/s then changing account type from 40/20 to 80/20 will make no difference at all I'm afraid.  The only difference between Plusnet 40/20 and 80/20 is the maximum downstream throughput on the Plusnet network. 
I'm on PN 40/20 with a sync speed of 65(ish), my throughput is limited only by the Plusnet profile being set to 40 Mb/s.
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
deathtrap
Grafter
Posts: 1,063
Thanks: 4
Registered: 23-04-2013

Re: Temp speed increaes.

Quote from: keyholder
Do  or will Plusnet increase speed for a trial time period for people who are able to get faster speeds to test their connection at the faster speeds to see if its reliable enough for them or not?Huh
Lets use my connection for example.
Im on 40/20, I sync at 33,  BTW say my lines capable of 56mb down ( top speed ) With no bridge taps ( as per internal checks ) in place, Could we ask / test for a faster speed ( at cost obviously ). If the line becomes less stable / unreliable We could drop back down..

Firstly the figures given by the BTW availability checker  are an estimate and nothing more they are there purely as a way for isp's to give some idea of what speeds (sync) the line is capable of  at point of sale, and nothing more, although there is evidence  to suggest that ISP's are quite wrongly placing a reliance on these often inaccurate estimates before they will raise a fault with BT. So are frequently used as a cop out not in the customers favour
As you are already provisioned on the 80/20 product  which is capped by plusnet at 40mbps (throughput)  and you can only get a sync of 33mbps then  removing the throughput cap isn't going to do anything  you wouldn't see any difference , your connection is syncing at the speed the line is able to support , which is lower than the estimate, so you may be able to report a fault because of that, but  it may depend on the  low figure on the clean estimate, as that bit is used by isp's as the cop out, they have even tried using the BTW estimate for low throughput issues,lol
keyholder
Grafter
Posts: 76
Thanks: 2
Registered: 06-05-2015

Re: Temp speed increaes.

Quote from: w23
If you're syncing at 33 Mb/s then changing account type from 40/20 to 80/20 will make no difference at all I'm afraid.  The only difference between Plusnet 40/20 and 80/20 is the maximum downstream throughput on the Plusnet network. 
I'm on PN 40/20 with a sync speed of 65(ish), my throughput is limited only by the Plusnet profile being set to 40 Mb/s.


Well ive gotten a solid 38 Mb from sky previous to coming to plusnet and the only reason I was only offered 38mb as thats what my cabinet could only recieve but since then the cabinet has been upgraded to faster speeds. Before leaving sky they offered me the 80/20 package but we had left by this point.. however  Since moving to plusnet i now only get 33mb and 4 odd meg up so how i can only get 33 is horse manure.
With a quick check on Skys system on my postcode They now offer the 80/20 on their online system.
keyholder
Grafter
Posts: 76
Thanks: 2
Registered: 06-05-2015

Re: Temp speed increaes.

Quote from: deathtrap
Quote from: keyholder
Do  or will Plusnet increase speed for a trial time period for people who are able to get faster speeds to test their connection at the faster speeds to see if its reliable enough for them or not?Huh
Lets use my connection for example.
Im on 40/20, I sync at 33,  BTW say my lines capable of 56mb down ( top speed ) With no bridge taps ( as per internal checks ) in place, Could we ask / test for a faster speed ( at cost obviously ). If the line becomes less stable / unreliable We could drop back down..

Firstly the figures given by the BTW availability checker  are an estimate and nothing more they are there purely as a way for isp's to give some idea of what speeds (sync) the line is capable of  at point of sale, and nothing more, although there is evidence  to suggest that ISP's are quite wrongly placing a reliance on these often inaccurate estimates before they will raise a fault with BT. So are frequently used as a cop out not in the customers favour
As you are already provisioned on the 80/20 product  which is capped by plusnet at 50mbps (throughput)  and you can only get a sync of 33mbps then  removing the throughput cap isn't going to do anything  you wouldn't see any difference , your connection is syncing at the speed the line is able to support , which is lower than the estimate, so you may be able to report a fault because of that, but  it may depend on the  low figure on the clean estimate, as that bit is used by isp's as the cop out, they have even tried using the BTW estimate for low throughput issues,lol

erm Plusnet did an internal check with no taps on the line and evertything was ok.Just makes me wonder why people are offered the lowest speed they seem fit to offer when they BTW checker says theres more of a speed to be had.
keyholder
Grafter
Posts: 76
Thanks: 2
Registered: 06-05-2015

Re: Temp speed increaes.

Do plusnet do line bonding of any sort? Or supply more than one line so customers can load balance them themselves ?Huh
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Temp speed increaes.

As others have mentioned, we provide all our fibre lines on the 80/20 wholesale variant now, so with your line syncing at 33Mb/s no improvements would be seen by changing products on our side. I've included connection stats from a line test I've performed.
Downstream Speed 33.0 Mbps
Upstream Speed 5.7 Mbps
Profile Name 0.128M-80M Downstream, Interleaving Low - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
deathtrap
Grafter
Posts: 1,063
Thanks: 4
Registered: 23-04-2013

Re: Temp speed increaes.

Quote from: keyholder
[Well ive gotten a solid 38 Mb from sky previous to coming to plusnet and the only reason I was only offered 38mb as thats what my cabinet could only recieve but since then the cabinet has been upgraded to faster speeds. Before leaving sky they offered me the 80/20 package but we had left by this point.

I don't doubt that  for a moment  as by your own admission you where on the 40/10 product  therefore the frequencies in use would be different,on which your line performed better ,Your are now on the 80/20 product as sky offered ,except it has a throughput transfer cap in place set by plusnet's own IP profile,  and therefore your sync speed would essentially be no different regardless of which isp you are with,
The only way you may beable to increase the sync back to what it was would be to revert back to a 40/10  plusnet may not any longer sell this, but they are still able to provide it as the bt product is still available to all isp's I also see that interleaving has been applied by DLM ,so this will cost you around 8-10mbps of sync, on the ds, as for  the upstream, what was it syncing at when on the sky 40/10 ?
The million dollar question would be, Are plusnet willing to regrade/provision you on the 40/10 product ?
keyholder
Grafter
Posts: 76
Thanks: 2
Registered: 06-05-2015

Re: Temp speed increaes.

dunno what i was syncing with the sky tbh but the connection was just as useless tbh..  I dont mean useless as in disconnects etc , It was just useless when i tried to game on it as the g.f son drains the bandwidth so makes it utter slow to use.
keyholder
Grafter
Posts: 76
Thanks: 2
Registered: 06-05-2015

Re: Temp speed increaes.

Quote from: Chris
As others have mentioned, we provide all our fibre lines on the 80/20 wholesale variant now, so with your line syncing at 33Mb/s no improvements would be seen by changing products on our side. I've included connection stats from a line test I've performed.
Downstream Speed 33.0 Mbps
Upstream Speed 5.7 Mbps
Profile Name 0.128M-80M Downstream, Interleaving Low - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off

Cheers chris..  Smiley Now i know its pointless being asked to be put on a higher speed ill stick with what PN so greatly delivers to me.. :  Cool 
No line faults, no lack of speed, connections working fine,,, but its  just the connection gets drained by the lad indoors and its slow to use sometimes hence the question.
Do PN supply 2  lines to one address at all.
Cheers
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Temp speed increaes.

Plusnet can supply a second line (as could other suppliers), you'd need to pay line rental of course as well as the Broadband/FTTC on both lines.
Plusnet don't offer any bonded lines, a few (specialist) suppliers can do this but it tends to be expensive.
If you don't mind paying for a second line then why not just have one for your heavy user and a separate one for everyone else?  How old is the lad?  Does he work?  Can he get a little job (paper round?) and 'pay' for his own dedicated connection?  Wink
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
keyholder
Grafter
Posts: 76
Thanks: 2
Registered: 06-05-2015

Re: Temp speed increaes.

Quote from: w23
If you don't mind paying for a second line then why not just have one for your heavy user and a separate one for everyone else?  How old is the lad?  Does he work?  Can he get a little job (paper round?) and 'pay' for his own dedicated connection?  Wink

Work... hahaha.. hes 16 and a lazy ass little sod, The only thing he works is his mouth saying his hungry 24/7. 
We decided last night hes having his own connection but we're getting  him a Virginmedia connection Cheesy ,  lets see how long it takes him to moan the internets crap now  Grin  Grin
I was looknig at a 2nd line infact,  I was looking at getting a leased line in (100mb/100mb ) but for £400pm its so expensive + a 3 yr contract  and tbh our home connection is more than enough for us...  if it wasnt for the lads Video streaming fetish that is.
I didnt realise how much bandwidth Skype and twitch take up nowadays.. as thats all he mainly uses... other than the odd blast of youtube.  They use that much bandwidth he used just over 600GB alone on his own within less than a month. Between the rest of us we used less than 100gb and thats with steam various other updates, and youtube.
Dam Video streaming... By going on my connection alone  at 33/5mb theres gonna be alot of connections that  struggle to video stream.
cheers.