cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TPS

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,531
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

TPS

TPS i presume most will know what it is ,, Anyhow my number is registered so i dont get marketing calls Thumbs Up

But Economy Energy keep ringing me to swap to them , so i want to complain to TPS ,,, but it keeps timing out Huh

can someone confirm that is not just me http://www.tpsonline.org.uk/tps/index.html  , click make a complaint

 

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
9 REPLIES
Mayfly
Pro
Posts: 1,176
Thanks: 121
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-06-2009

Re: TPS

Timed out for me too, but then again a lot connections to various sites are slow for me this morning.

newagetraveller
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 446
Thanks: 53
Registered: 03-08-2012

Re: TPS

Yes, it's just the "make a complaint" that times out for me.

A bit pointless if an individul can't make  complaint. Then again the TPS is a toothless and useless nonentity anyway.

Three mobile, 1,2,3, PAYG. https://www.three.co.uk/Store/SIM/Pay_As_You_Go
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,697
Thanks: 1,951
Fixes: 247
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: TPS

not timing out for me over a VPN.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

bobminors
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 158
Thanks: 34
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-09-2016

Re: TPS

Works okay for me. Probably just the TPS web server being slow.

 

Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 257
Fixes: 20
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: TPS

I've been with TPS for many years, but they are toothless.
The best way of getting rid of spam calls is a call blocker. I bought one about 3 years ago and my spam calls dropped to nearly zero from 5-7 a DAY.
Just about to upgrade to one with an lcd screen so you can block a call you missed or answered on an extension. That is the only PITA with it you have to press a button to block the call when it is live (or enter a long string of numbers to block it afterwards) and can't block from an extension, I believe the newer ones have this facility though. But I am getting a cheap Chinese one rather than the £50 UK one.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,769
Thanks: 1,151
Fixes: 63
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: TPS

It works OK for me too using a standard fibre connection.

David
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,531
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: TPS

must have been their problem ,, it works now Thumbs Up yet i try yesterday and this morning with no joy

 

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
St3
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 2,608
Thanks: 498
Fixes: 5
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: TPS

I seen somthing on tv a few months ago regarding tps and cold callers, and from what i seen if a company calls you from outside the uk then tps cant stop them. TPS are only able to block those who call from inside the uk and maybe this how you are getting calls still.

vultura
Grafter
Posts: 255
Thanks: 4
Registered: 22-05-2011

Re: TPS

I have a feeling you are correct and that TPS can only deal with UK based callers.

 

For some tips on cold calls try - http://www.which.co.uk/reviews/nuisance-calls/article/ten-tips-to-stop-cold-calls

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav): Full quote of preceding post removed as per Forum rules.