cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TBB Graph Latency / Spikes

shylok
Rising Star
Posts: 252
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 1
Registered: 29-11-2014

TBB Graph Latency / Spikes

Hi, could somebody check if the settings on my line are ok?
Looking at my TBB Graphs im seeing that im getting a slightly higher than normal minimum latency at 30ms rather than the usual 10ms, im also seeing the odd red spike of packet loss day to day, download speed results appear to be unaffected however the upload speeds are coming in slightly lower at 10mbps (half of the 20mbps my package states), there are also some disconnection issues but im not sure if thats down to the dns servers im using
When i first joined on 18th Dec, the speeds appeared to show that my connection was uncapped for a few days to see what the line is capable off, i was getting around 64mbps dl & 15mbps up before the cap was applied
Sat 10th Jan

Sun 11th Jan


53 REPLIES
shylok
Rising Star
Posts: 252
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 1
Registered: 29-11-2014

Re: TBB Graph Latency / Spikes

Plusnet staff, can you look into this? i've had no reply as yet, my graphs above seem to have disappeared, i posted the png link, the tbb graph became void as my IP changed so i guess thats why they vanished?
My current one still shows higher than normal minimum latency
Fri 16th Jan
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/share/01a41e98bc6c99449bb998b503b8671d-16-01-2015.html
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,188
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: TBB Graph Latency / Spikes

If your latency used to be 10ms then you have interleaving added as its now 28ish ms, that usually happens after a number of lost connections or high error rates.  The 2 red spikes would indicate to me that your modem/router lost its PPP session twice.
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
shylok
Rising Star
Posts: 252
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 1
Registered: 29-11-2014

Re: TBB Graph Latency / Spikes

I have been getting some disconnections of at least one or two per day that i was not getting with Sky up until i moved a month back, i thought this might have been down to the public DNS servers i've been using but i have since reverted back to the auto Plusnet DNS servers until this issue is resolved, i cant post any useful stats / data on my connection in regards to SNR noise margins & power settings since im using a locked BT Modem separate to my router.
My system log in the router does show a number intermittent drops every couple of minutes to the connection as you say, such as this
Jan 16 22:50:03 kernel: DROP  <4>DROP IN=ppp0 OUT= MAC= <1>SRC=218.77.79.43 DST=80.189.103.90 <1>LEN=40 TOS=0x00
Can somebody flag this up for a Plusnet rep to take a look at my connection & see where the faults are before it gets worst?
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,623
Thanks: 531
Fixes: 204
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: TBB Graph Latency / Spikes

Hi there.
Your line is dropping occasionally as shown below

There's no interleaving on your line however so I'm not sure why your ping times are higher then normal however 30ms isn't that bad.
With regards to the slight packet loss it looks like there was capacity issues in your area however work was carried out on the 16th so it should be fine now.
Have you had any issues over the weekend?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
shylok
Rising Star
Posts: 252
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 1
Registered: 29-11-2014

Re: TBB Graph Latency / Spikes

Nothing major in regards to speed however sometimes web pages can be slow to load, looking at the system log in my router im still seeing these drops every few minutes, what are they? & whats causing it?
Jan 22 02:01:12 kernel: DROP  <4>DROP IN=ppp0 OUT= MAC= <1>SRC=184.105.247.208 DST=80.189.103.90 <1>LEN=40 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x80 TTL=244 ID=54321 PROTO=TCP <1>SPT=58788 DPT=11211 SEQ=1198158343 ACK=0 WINDOW=65535 RES=0x00 SYN URGP=0
theres still some slight packet loss that usually appears between 8pm - 11pm
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,623
Thanks: 531
Fixes: 204
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: TBB Graph Latency / Spikes

I think what your seeing in your router log isn't a disconnection of your internet but something else entirely.
Your connection hasn't dropped at all since the last graph I've posted although my testing will just have caused one.
There's no capacity issues reported at your exchange either.
Do you have a live link to your ping graph?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
shylok
Rising Star
Posts: 252
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 1
Registered: 29-11-2014

Re: TBB Graph Latency / Spikes

Hi, well it was working ok for a few days until the connection dropped again on Sunday 25th Jan, just after 4pm looking at the spike in packet loss on the graph, i didn't go on the net until just after 6pm where i found that i couldnt connect to the network (yellow ? over the taskbar icon), so i had to switch off / on the modem to get online
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/share/2e661594456ab2ccc3cd3964dd1ba1b8-25-01-2015.html
shylok
Rising Star
Posts: 252
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 1
Registered: 29-11-2014

Re: TBB Graph Latency / Spikes

Some more spikes in packet loss today Weds 29th Jan where i temporarily lost my connection, this happens at least once a day
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/share/f53edfcbf83287d0543a40ee2763a350-28-01-2015.html
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: TBB Graph Latency / Spikes

Can you look through the router log to see if there are any messages at the time of the drop?
shylok
Rising Star
Posts: 252
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 1
Registered: 29-11-2014

Re: TBB Graph Latency / Spikes

Quote from: AndyH
Can you look through the router log to see if there are any messages at the time of the drop?

No, the system log in my router only shows info from when my computer first connects to it, no history appears to be kept once i switch it off
As noted above, these drop logs are very frequent but i dont know what they are? i don't lose my connection when they appear which is every five minutes
Jan 29 21:00:35 kernel: DROP  <4>DROP IN=ppp0 OUT= MAC= <1>SRC=94.102.52.36 DST=195.166.134.136 <1>LEN=118 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x80 TTL=52 ID=0 DF PROTO=UDP <1>SPT=58990 DPT=1900 LEN=98
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: TBB Graph Latency / Spikes

It's a log of a dropped (blocked) packet - the IP (94.102.52.36) is registered to Ecatel in Holland.
shylok
Rising Star
Posts: 252
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 1
Registered: 29-11-2014

Re: TBB Graph Latency / Spikes

Quote from: AndyH
It's a log of a dropped (blocked) packet - the IP (94.102.52.36) is registered to Ecatel in Holland.

so why is my router trying to connect to that?
this ones more common 195.166.134.136 which i think is Plusnet, but what is SRC=218.77.79.38? if an ip that links to China & is a dodgy http://anti-hacker-alliance.com/index.php?details=218.77.79.38
Jan 30 01:56:17 kernel: DROP  <4>DROP IN=ppp0 OUT= MAC= <1>SRC=218.77.79.38 DST=195.166.134.136 <1>LEN=40 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x80 TTL=239 ID=54321 PROTO=TCP <1>SPT=40775 DPT=1521 SEQ=2181815809 ACK=0 WINDOW=65535 RES=0x00 SYN URGP=0
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,188
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: TBB Graph Latency / Spikes

After a quick google its not your router trying to connect, it's just the firewall log telling you it has dropped an attempted to connect/talk to your router.  You can ignore most of those firewall logs unless you get thousands in seconds covering various ports from the same IP address
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
shylok
Rising Star
Posts: 252
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 1
Registered: 29-11-2014

Re: TBB Graph Latency / Spikes

ok thanks,
Can a Plusnet rep get back to me after checking my connection for drops as mentioned above? they are still intermittently occurring since the some work was carried out on the 16th Jan, with you having previously found drop-outs i can therefore rule out any fault with my router (Asus RT-N66U) unless its the ECI Modem its connected to?