cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sync Speed FTTC

durrana10
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎19-01-2021

Sync Speed FTTC

Hi

 

I recently had a fault on my line and afterwards I had really good sync speeds at around 55mbs but over the last few days its dropped to 48mbs.

 

I have a draytek 130 vdsl modem and here is the current output:

  ---------------------- ATU-R Info (hw: annex A, f/w: annex A/B/C) -----------

   Running Mode            :      17A       State                : SHOWTIME

   DS Actual Rate          : 48996000 bps   US Actual Rate       :  5993000 bps

   DS Attainable Rate      : 60514392 bps   US Attainable Rate   :  5771709 bps

   DS Path Mode            :  Interleave    US Path Mode         :  Interleave 

   DS Interleave Depth     :      757       US Interleave Depth  :       96 

   NE Current Attenuation  :       17 dB    Cur SNR Margin       :        1  dB

   DS actual PSD           :     5. 4 dB    US actual PSD        :     5. 6  dB

   NE CRC Count            :        6       FE CRC Count         :    15482

   NE ES Count             :        1       FE  ES Count         :    10895

   Xdsl Reset Times        :        0       Xdsl Link  Times     :        2

   ITU Version[0]          : fe004452       ITU Version[1]       : 41590000

   VDSL Firmware Version   : 05-07-06-0D-01-07   [with Vectoring support] 

   Power Management Mode   : DSL_G997_PMS_L0 

   Test Mode               : DISABLE 

  -------------------------------- ATU-C Info ---------------------------------

   Far Current Attenuation :       19 dB    Far SNR Margin       :        6  dB

   CO ITU Version[0]       : b5004946       CO ITU Version[1]    : 544eb206

   DSLAM CHIPSET VENDOR    : < IFTN >

 

Can any one shed any light to why the attainable rate is at 60mbs?

 

Does my IP profile need resetting to sot the sync speed?

 

Any help would be great.

 

 

 

6 REPLIES 6
Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,999
Thanks: 2,655
Fixes: 177
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Sync Speed FTTC

@durrana10 

Your 'Curr SNR' at 1 dB sounds far to low. It is interesting that ATU-C is 6 dB, where you might expect it. This could be causing multiple errors on the line. Have you tried dropping the connection to see is resynchronising your modem with the FTTC cabinet helps?

durrana10
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎19-01-2021

Re: Sync Speed FTTC

Hi

 

I have tweaked the snr to -50,should I set it back to 0?

 

Thanks

Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,999
Thanks: 2,655
Fixes: 177
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Sync Speed FTTC

@durrana10 

I am unfamiliar with this modem and cannot conceive why you would do this. I would return it to it's factory setting or preferably plug in your Plusnet supplied hub to get an idea as to whether you have a real problem or it is caused by your changing the modem settings.

durrana10
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎19-01-2021

Re: Sync Speed FTTC

No worries, the tweak has increased the sync speed on default settings its about 35 mb

 

I do not have a plus net router as I use an enterprise firewall to connect to the pppoe port on the draytek.

 

 

cOmp
Rising Star
Posts: 51
Thanks: 11
Registered: ‎31-12-2020

Re: Sync Speed FTTC

Restore your SNR delta back to default (50 AFAIK) and check what your minimum guarenteed speed is supposed to be. Do a speed check with BT wholesale speed tester and use diaognostics option to get full speed information and if that falls below that minimum speed open a faults ticket and get speed to the guaranteed speed, let the line settle after any fixes than mess around with SNR delta and push it to the attainable speeds but remember adjusting your SNR delta could cause so many errors that the DLM may reduce your speeds automagically to keep your connection error free and stable.
Yorkshire and Proud. Embarrassed to be with Plusnet.
durrana10
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎19-01-2021

Re: Sync Speed FTTC

Thanks, I will set SNR back to 0 and will raise a case with plus net again!

Minimum Guaranteed Speed is 50Mbps but currently syncing at 38mbs!