cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Switching from BT to Plusnet when cabinet is full

FIXED
plusmore
Grafter
Posts: 37
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎16-05-2013

Switching from BT to Plusnet when cabinet is full

I currently have BT Infinity 2 and am looking to move to Plusnet in June when my contract ends as BT is just way too expensive. As I already have a port in my local cabinet which OpenReach are reporting as full and waitlisting new orders will my transfer still be able to proceed or will I lose my FTTC if I try to switch?

8 REPLIES
MattyC
Champion
Posts: 3,192
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 46
Registered: ‎10-04-2014

Re: Switching from BT to Plusnet when cabinet is full

As this is a migration order, you shouldn't lose your port.

If you sign up with us, feel free to PM your username over and I'll check your order.

Matty

ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet
plusmore
Grafter
Posts: 37
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎16-05-2013

Re: Switching from BT to Plusnet when cabinet is full

A couple of other questions

  1. Can I define the start date so I get the order into the system so the service switches over on the day my BT contract ends (in June)?
  2. Will I need a MAC code or do PN handle everything?
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,595
Thanks: 278
Fixes: 33
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Switching from BT to Plusnet when cabinet is full

Having done the same as you last year, yes place your order in advance, BT require 30 days notice, if you want to avoid double billing, so place your PN order a day or two before your last 30 days. Don't say anything to BT, let PN arrange the takeover. No MAC needed.

 

oh, and keep the email you should get from BT saying someone has requested taking over your line. You may need this if BT try and charge you a £30 cancellation fee. Also don't be alarmed if BT send you a bill after the service has been transferred, the bill in advance, so sometimes it takes them a few days to get it sorted.

HTH

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,841
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎21-01-2013

Re: Switching from BT to Plusnet when cabinet is full

Have you asked BT if they will do a retention deal. Wink

plusmore
Grafter
Posts: 37
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎16-05-2013

Re: Switching from BT to Plusnet when cabinet is full

Not sure they will be able to match PN, current costs will be £36 per month plus Line Rental, PN are over £10 per month cheaper and having been a customer in the past was happy with their service. Also, can grab some cashback via Quidco/Topcashback to sweeten the deal. BT seem to be taking money out of phone and BB users to subsidise their BT TV and EE purchases.

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,841
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎21-01-2013

Re: Switching from BT to Plusnet when cabinet is full


plusmore wrote:

Also, can grab some cashback via Quidco/Topcashback to sweeten the deal.


Can't argue with that, I've just had a massive payout for moving the other way. Funny

plusmore
Grafter
Posts: 37
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎16-05-2013

Re: Switching from BT to Plusnet when cabinet is full

PM sent with username 

MattyC
Champion
Posts: 3,192
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 46
Registered: ‎10-04-2014

Re: Switching from BT to Plusnet when cabinet is full

Fix

Thanks! I've responded to your PM.

No problems with your order and the ports won't change.

Matty

ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet