cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Switched from standard Fibre to Superfast and see no speed change

Jcdek
Grafter
Posts: 52
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎07-09-2018

Re: Switched from standard Fibre to Superfast and see no speed change

Would I benefit from having vectoring enabled G.993.5? Is it an option?

RealAleMadrid
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,546
Thanks: 692
Fixes: 36
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Switched from standard Fibre to Superfast and see no speed change

@Jcdek  Vectoring is not a standard option, it is only available on a relatively small number of FTTC cabinets installed under the BDUK funded scheme mainly in rural areas where it is needed to get some users on longer lines up what are called "Superfast Speeds" of 30Mbps to meet the requirements of the contract.

It would be very nice if Openreach had provided vectoring on all the cabinets but as it needs additional hardware which costs money they haven't done it.☹️

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 19,304
Thanks: 6,517
Fixes: 1,074
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Switched from standard Fibre to Superfast and see no speed change

Hi @Jcdek 

I can maybe switch the modem/router out for the Hub one as a test but not until later in the week. My kids wouldn't forgive me if the internet was off when I went to work at 5am due to technical issues so I can't risk it.

I'll update you when I get a chance to.

No problem and makes sense 😬

 

What is it you are hoping to see from the swap?

Wanted to see if there was anything caused by your modem or router limiting your throughput. 

Not overly hopeful though because I believe that this may just be down to retransmission.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Jcdek
Grafter
Posts: 52
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎07-09-2018

Re: Switched from standard Fibre to Superfast and see no speed change

Strangely we had an internet outage yesterday. Went off then back on then off again and stayed off for a while.

Once everything was back up and running I had 50Mb DL and did a speed test which gave 33Mb which again seemed low.

 

I can see from my stats that my modem resynced in the early hours of this morning and is now at 56Mb attainable, 53Mb DL and running a speedtest gave 45Mb DL and 9.5Mb UL. So currently I am back to where I was originally which is great.

 

I just hope it now stays that way.

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 19,304
Thanks: 6,517
Fixes: 1,074
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Switched from standard Fibre to Superfast and see no speed change

Ah awesome. Looking good! Fingers crossed indeed your speed stays that way.

Let us know if there are any further issues.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Jcdek
Grafter
Posts: 52
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎07-09-2018

Re: Switched from standard Fibre to Superfast and see no speed change

Big thanks Gandalf for all your help! 😊

 

Connection seems ok now. Fingers crossed it stays that way.

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 19,304
Thanks: 6,517
Fixes: 1,074
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Switched from standard Fibre to Superfast and see no speed change

Nice! No problem at all @Jcdek

Fingers crossed indeed

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team