cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stuck in an endless loop - Chances of a remote DLM reset?

GeordieMark
Grafter
Posts: 335
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎10-11-2013

Stuck in an endless loop - Chances of a remote DLM reset?

Hey guys, just wanted some opinions on this. Every morning, without fail DLM increases the interleaving depth on my line, and without fail, it will then decrease it the next morning, etc etc.
Could it be stuck? Below are snapshot graphs of the past week or so, to show you what I mean...

Anyway you get the idea. What are the chances of PN getting me a remote DLM Reset to sort this out? Connection was fine on fast path before OR came out and started disconnecting things, then never reset DLM when they left  (which is the main reasonI feel it should be done remotely, as they caused DLM to interfere in the first place and should have reset it when they left!)
Thanks in advance!
EDIT: Had a blonde moment and added the images completely wrong, should be view able now!
adie:green removed images as they showed IP address
17 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,984
Thanks: 581
Fixes: 219
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: Stuck in an endless loop - Chances of a remote DLM reset?

Unfortunately it's not possible for us to do a remote reset of DLM on Fibre.
Only Openreach can do this and they'll only do it after a faults fixed on the line.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
GeordieMark
Grafter
Posts: 335
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎10-11-2013

Re: Stuck in an endless loop - Chances of a remote DLM reset?

Hi Matt, that's the problem, they didn't reset it after fixing a fault on the line  Sad Which is why I was hoping we could maybe get them to do one remotely.
Terranova667
Pro
Posts: 1,322
Thanks: 77
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎19-02-2014

Re: Stuck in an endless loop - Chances of a remote DLM reset?

DLM is not done if all the Engineer did was disconnect stuff in your home and or tweak a few settings to fix the problem it has to be an actual physical repair ie you were moved to a different line pair that goes to the cab if the engineer did that then yes a DLM reset could have been done.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎27-10-2012

Re: Stuck in an endless loop - Chances of a remote DLM reset?

It's a bit strange for DLM to be making changes every day. The whole point of the counter system with NGA DLM was to ensure that this situation (positive/negative changes every day) doesn't happen.
GeordieMark
Grafter
Posts: 335
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎10-11-2013

Re: Stuck in an endless loop - Chances of a remote DLM reset?

He did, he moved me to another pair and also said he'd wiped out the box the pairs are in as there was water in it, so i think that more than warranted a dlm reset. But yes ad Andy says it shouldnt be doing that everyday...
goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,849
Thanks: 87
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Stuck in an endless loop - Chances of a remote DLM reset?

Quote from: Matthew
Unfortunately it's not possible for us to do a remote reset of DLM on Fibre.
Only Openreach can do this and they'll only do it after a faults fixed on the line.

Why can't to meeting with NGA BT and ask them why they not doing remote reset of DLM on Fibre for all isp's to control themself. I do remember Chris Pettitt metion a year ago that it might happen one day.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎27-10-2012

Re: Stuck in an endless loop - Chances of a remote DLM reset?

@ goldenfibre - What is the purpose of doing a DLM reset if someone is not syncing at the top end of their band?
GeordieMark
Grafter
Posts: 335
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎10-11-2013

Re: Stuck in an endless loop - Chances of a remote DLM reset?

It'd be very useful if the ISPs could reset the DLM, however I know they can't, but I believe they can request Openreach do it remotely in special cases? I was hoping mine would be be one of those cases, since it should have been done before the engineer left but never was.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎27-10-2012

Re: Stuck in an endless loop - Chances of a remote DLM reset?

This wouldn't help you though. If DLM is making changes every day to your line, there has to be an underlying cause and this needs to be fixed.
GeordieMark
Grafter
Posts: 335
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎10-11-2013

Re: Stuck in an endless loop - Chances of a remote DLM reset?

Which is where the vicious circle begins, OR attend and tell me there is nothing wrong with my line. And they won't take notice of the TBB graphs I show them - Not sure where to go next really.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎27-10-2012

Re: Stuck in an endless loop - Chances of a remote DLM reset?

Plusnet should do a line check and see what that shows.
Which modem are you using at the moment?
GeordieMark
Grafter
Posts: 335
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎10-11-2013

Re: Stuck in an endless loop - Chances of a remote DLM reset?

I'm using an unlocked HG612, which is what the last OR engineer gave me, he said it made no difference even though my cab is an ECI.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,984
Thanks: 581
Fixes: 219
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: Stuck in an endless loop - Chances of a remote DLM reset?

Your current profile is "0.128M-54M Downstream, Interleaving Low - 0.128M-19M Upstream, Error Protection Off"
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
GeordieMark
Grafter
Posts: 335
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎10-11-2013

Re: Stuck in an endless loop - Chances of a remote DLM reset?

Thanks Matt, any chance of posting the full test stats? IE the ones that show the amount of errors etc - below are my stats from the modem, errors don't seem too bad for the length of time connected.
xdslcmd info --stats
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason: 1
Last initialization procedure status: 0
Max: Upstream rate = 5968 Kbps, Downstream rate = 43404 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 6108 Kbps, Downstream rate = 39942 Kbps
Link Power State: L0
Mode: VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile: Profile 17a
TPS-TC: PTM Mode(0x0)
Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
Line Status: No Defect
Training Status: Showtime
Down Up
SNR (dB): 4.5 5.8
Attn(dB): 23.5 0.0
Pwr(dBm): 12.1 1.8
VDSL2 framing
Bearer 0
MSGc: 18 33
B: 51 191
M: 1 1
T: 64 5
R: 12 16
S: 0.0414 0.9988
L: 12360 1666
D: 781 1
I: 64 208
N: 64 208
Counters
Bearer 0
OHF: 230968854 662287
OHFErr: 1075 446
RS: 3293356656 358675
RSCorr: 16084082 1409
RSUnCorr: 32538 0
Bearer 0
HEC: 7045 0
OCD: 257 0
LCD: 257 0
Total Cells: 4256314864 0
Data Cells: 3019228352 0
Drop Cells: 0
Bit Errors: 0 0
ES: 870 691
SES: 12 1
UAS: 1004 993
AS: 614730
Bearer 0
INP: 3.00 0.00
INPRein: 0.00 0.00
delay: 8 0
PER: 2.66 16.29
OR: 72.14 19.14
AgR: 40013.69 6127.44
Bitswap: 443021/443266 188/192
Total time = 1 days 7 hours 56 min 20 sec
FEC: 33619358 2480
CRC: 6210 857
ES: 870 691
SES: 12 1
UAS: 1004 993
LOS: 1 0
LOF: 10 0
LOM: 0 0
Latest 15 minutes time = 11 min 20 sec
FEC: 6560 1
CRC: 2 0
ES: 1 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
FEC: 4674 0
CRC: 3 0
ES: 1 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Latest 1 day time = 7 hours 56 min 20 sec
FEC: 230010 48
CRC: 35 11
ES: 17 10
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
FEC: 2056990 124
CRC: 94 39
ES: 36 32
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Since Link time = 7 days 2 hours 45 min 29 sec
FEC: 16084082 1409
CRC: 1075 446
ES: 407 367
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0