cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stuck at 21Mbps - static IP causing incorrect Plusnet profile?

FIXED
ChrisFox
Hooked
Posts: 9
Thanks: 2
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Stuck at 21Mbps - static IP causing incorrect Plusnet profile?

Hopefully pinging some of the PN tech wizards here, as my fault ticket (#211034546) has been stuck in Openreach purgatory all week. From my "Broadband" page in the member centre:

Product: Unlimited Fibre Extra
Estimated Download Range: 63 - 72Mbps
Estimated Upload Range: 17 - 18Mbps
Minimum Guaranteed Speed: 58.2Mbps
Current Line Speed (Download): 21Mbps

I was on 40/10 for years with no problems and upgraded to 80/20 on 1st Feb. I think I still have a static IP, and from looking at some previous posts on here (1 , 2 ) this seems to cause the line speed to get stuck at 21Mbps. It's definitely not a line length issue - according to a GEA test my line is ~270m, as the crow flies from my front door to the cabinet is closer to just 70m - and my modem is syncing just fine:

Stats recorded 12 Feb 2021 16:13:34

DSLAM type / SW version:	BDCM:0xa4a1 (164.161) / v0xa4a1
Modem/router firmware:  	AnnexA version - A2pv6C038m.d24j
DSL mode:               	VDSL2 Profile 17a
Status:                 	Showtime
Uptime:                 	3 days 17 hours 49 min 28 sec
Resyncs:                	0 (since 10 Feb 2021 13:28:33)
			
				Downstream	Upstream
Line attenuation (dB):  	11.6		0.0
Signal attenuation (dB):	Not available on VDSL2		
Connection speed (kbps):	79999		19999
SNR margin (dB):        	5.9		15.5
Power (dBm):            	13.3		-1.6
Interleave depth:       	8		1
INP:                    	52.00		0
G.INP:                  	Enabled		Not enabled
Vectoring status:       	5 (VECT_UNCONFIGURED)		

RSCorr/RS (%):          	0.0005		0.1086
RSUnCorr/RS (%):        	0.0000		0.0000
ES/hour:                	0		3.57

I'm happy for the static IP to be removed from my account if that'll resolve the issue, as long as a note goes on my account ensuring that it's re-established free of charge if I need it again later. Can someone from Plusnet get back to me, either here or on my fault ticket?

6 REPLIES 6
RichardB
All Star
Posts: 760
Thanks: 237
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎19-11-2008

Re: Stuck at 21Mbps - static IP causing incorrect Plusnet profile?

Hi @ChrisFox 

You could try dropping the PPP connection to Plusnet and reconnecting.

Sometimes it is enough to kick the Plusnet profile.

Regards

Richard

 

ChrisFox
Hooked
Posts: 9
Thanks: 2
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Re: Stuck at 21Mbps - static IP causing incorrect Plusnet profile?

Cheers Richard - just tried it (not for the first time, but I haven't for a few days) and sadly no luck. Worth a try, though!

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,276
Thanks: 2,298
Fixes: 173
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Stuck at 21Mbps - static IP causing incorrect Plusnet profile?

Fix

If you dont get a staff response here then raise a speed fault at https://faults.plus.net . Be sure to mention that you have a static IP and your PlusNet profile is stuck at 21Mb

ChrisFox
Hooked
Posts: 9
Thanks: 2
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Re: Stuck at 21Mbps - static IP causing incorrect Plusnet profile?

Thanks. I did raise it as a speed fault last Wednesday, but for some reason it got bounced to Openreach and it's been with them since Monday morning with no update, hence me hoping someone at PN might see this and get it sorted from their end rather than waiting for Openreach to come back with an "all OK our end" reply.

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,276
Thanks: 2,298
Fixes: 173
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Stuck at 21Mbps - static IP causing incorrect Plusnet profile?

Oh dear! Obviously whoever picked up the fault didnt check for the PlusNet profile and static IP. Problem is the profile doesnt have any effect for most lines, its only static IP's and it would appear that some support staff anent aware of it.

alexatkin
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎01-03-2019

Re: Stuck at 21Mbps - static IP causing incorrect Plusnet profile?

Should the "current line speed" actually reflect the profile?

The strangest thing is mine says:

  • Product: Unlimited Fibre Extra
  • Estimated Download Range: Not available
  • Estimated Upload Range: Not available
  • Minimum Guaranteed Speed: Not available
  • Current Line Speed (Download): 68.8Mbps

 

But my throughput is stuck at 56Mbit.