cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Streaming Radio Cuts Out Or Won't Play

bobleslie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 08-08-2017

Streaming Radio Cuts Out Or Won't Play

Some stations work fine, but https://www.radiohatteras.org/listen-live cuts out, and this one just shows "Loading" all the time http://www.bcbradio.co.uk/player/index.html . I realise these aren't very mainstream, but they're playing my material and I'd like to monitor that. Radio Hatteras used to work fine.

6 REPLIES
Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,283
Thanks: 777
Fixes: 46
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: Streaming Radio Cuts Out Or Won't Play

Both played for me but wanted their own window, are you using any pop-up blockers or ad-blockers?

Worth mentioning as well I use Google's DNS.
I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
bobleslie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 08-08-2017

Re: Streaming Radio Cuts Out Or Won't Play

I disabled AdBlock and PopupBlocker - I had to do that to get as far as their player. It's after that point that the drop-outs occur.

bobleslie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 08-08-2017

Re: Streaming Radio Cuts Out Or Won't Play

How does Google's DNS come into it? I didn't even know they had a separate system, let alone that you could elect to use it.

bobleslie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 08-08-2017

Re: Streaming Radio Cuts Out Or Won't Play

OK, looked up Google DNS and implemented it. My ISP doesn't seem to recognise IPV6, but , apart from that, it seems to work OK - speed of connection is up. Good. However, the Radio Hatteras player now says it's working, but no sound emerges, and http://www.bcbradio.co.uk/player/index.html is still stuck on "Loading". Other streamed stations - both those that use pop-up players and those that let me use VLC -  are working fine. The vTuner site lets me play Hatteras via VLC, but it still keeps dropping out every 15 seconds or so.  http://vtuner.com/setupapp/guide/asp/BrowseStations/Searchform.asp Oddly enough, BCB works perfectly via vTuner.

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 3,302
Thanks: 1,736
Fixes: 12
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Streaming Radio Cuts Out Or Won't Play


bobleslie wrote:

My ISP doesn't seem to recognise IPV6, but , apart from that, it seems to work OK

Which ISP are you with?  This is a Plusnet forum.

 

 


 

bobleslie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 08-08-2017

Re: Streaming Radio Cuts Out Or Won't Play

Plusnet Fibre