cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Still getting dns issues with 2 websites

St3
All Star
Posts: 2,553
Thanks: 444
Fixes: 4
Registered: 13-07-2012

Still getting dns issues with 2 websites

https://online.tsb.co.ukwww.britishgas.co.uk

Both websites show nothing for the first 30 seconds then they refresh and work, seams to be happening more and more, im using automatic dns ip. I did try using plusnets dns ips and it didnt seam to help.

Ive noticed this dns issues for the last month now, anyone else getting this ?

11 REPLIES
BrightonRock
Pro
Posts: 210
Thanks: 70
Fixes: 5
Registered: 09-04-2016

Re: Still getting dns issues with 2 websites

Both sites load almost immediately here using Firefox running under Win 7 and using PlusNet's DNS. For what it is worth, I'm on the 'new network'.

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,787
Thanks: 1,408
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Still getting dns issues with 2 websites

British Gas worked fine for me , but TSB Sad  took 3 attempts for it to load ?

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
St3
All Star
Posts: 2,553
Thanks: 444
Fixes: 4
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Still getting dns issues with 2 websites

Im on the new network also Tongue to be honest @rongtw it is TSB that seams to come up with dns errors more than BG site. But out of all the websites i use/visit only these 2 websites seam to have loading issues and dns errors. Like you it sometimes takes 3-4 tries before they work, it never used to happen i only noticed it happening in the last month. Ooh and i only use chrome Wink

 

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,787
Thanks: 1,408
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Still getting dns issues with 2 websites

I would tend to think its their web page M8 , its odd that PN network to block a bank ?   unless someone incorectly put it on blocked site list Lips are sealed

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
BrightonRock
Pro
Posts: 210
Thanks: 70
Fixes: 5
Registered: 09-04-2016

Re: Still getting dns issues with 2 websites

The TSB site still comes up almost immediately for me, so far as I can see. I wonder if this is an issue with the site.

I don't bank with TSB so I don't know whether this is relevant, but I notice that the link is direct to the online login. With my bank, I start at their home page and go from there to the online login, rather than going direct (although I know the direct link). That is because, at least at one time, that route was necessary to set cookies etc. properly to prepare properly for the online login. Do you get the same problem if you follow that route rather than going direct?

St3
All Star
Posts: 2,553
Thanks: 444
Fixes: 4
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Still getting dns issues with 2 websites

yes but its not all the time, sometimes it loads up right away and then other times it takes a few tries refreshing to get it to show.

Ive changed from auto dns to plusnet recomend ones for now too see how it goes over the next few days.

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 18
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 1
Registered: 23-09-2015

Re: Still getting dns issues with 2 websites

Hi St3,

Could you check which DNS you are pointing to if you get the problems with the websites again and post that on here? Will help with our investigations.

I also see your on a static and have asked for it removing, are you ok if I still do this ? 

 

Cheers

 

 

 

 

St3
All Star
Posts: 2,553
Thanks: 444
Fixes: 4
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Still getting dns issues with 2 websites

Yer its fine to do so kev, im using these 212.159.13.49 & 212.159.13.50. My problems seam to be with the 2 websites i mentioned.

I was logged into this site secure.britishgashomeinsurance.co.uk a few moments ago and it timed out on me, i got another dns error i had to refresh 3 times in order for the page to load again.

This site can’t be reached

secure.britishgashomeinsurance.co.uk took too long to respond.

 

  • Search Google for secure.britishgashomeinsurance.co.uk
ERR_CONNECTION_TIMED_OUT
 
The above errors are what im getting at random times with TSB, BG and now the link above.
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,787
Thanks: 1,408
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Still getting dns issues with 2 websites

Ste , Similar problems here, may be related https://community.plus.net/t5/Fibre-Broadband/Plusnet-Proxy/td-p/1378105

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 18
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 1
Registered: 23-09-2015

Re: Still getting dns issues with 2 websites

Hi St3,

Have now removed the static from your account.

We are looking into the issues with the Banking and BG sites, but could you let me know if the problems continue for you now the static has been removed.

Thanks

St3
All Star
Posts: 2,553
Thanks: 444
Fixes: 4
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Still getting dns issues with 2 websites

Yer sure no worries kev cheers

My speeds are still looking fine anyways Smiley 

5727402501