cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

Champnet
Pro
Posts: 573
Thanks: 114
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎25-07-2007

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

A ping will generate a reply from the web server, this should fail.

 

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,981
Thanks: 1,724
Fixes: 38
Registered: ‎16-10-2014

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS


@DebbieR wrote:

But if the DYN is incorrect why does the command nslookup resolve to the new PlusNet static IP address?


That's a very good point. So can you verify that the address shown by nslookup for your DYN registered domain is the same IP on the WAN interface on your router and the same IP when you nslookup username.plus.com.

 

DebbieR
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-04-2017

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

OK I did an nslookup with username.plus.com and it resolved it to our static IP address.

DebbieR
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-04-2017

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

Yes, if I do an nslookup using my username or my URL they resolve to my static IP addrss.

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,981
Thanks: 1,724
Fixes: 38
Registered: ‎16-10-2014

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

And this is the same IP address you have on the WAN interface on your router?

DebbieR
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-04-2017

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

A ping to the URL (from inside the network ) gave the IP address of the server. A ping using my username failed.  Does this help diagnose the problem?

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,981
Thanks: 1,724
Fixes: 38
Registered: ‎16-10-2014

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

@DebbieR - You need to check what your WAN (Plusnet) IP is. Typing "My IP" into google will do that for you if you're on the same network.

DebbieR
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-04-2017

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

if I do nslookup username.plus.net I get the reply:

Server: dsldevice.lan

Address:: 192.168.x.nnn (which is my server)

Non-authoritative answer::

Name : username.plus.com

Address: 81,xxx.xxxxxs (my static IP address)

 

If I do nslookup on my URL I get

Server: cdns01.plus.net

Address 212.159.6.9

Non-authoritative answer:

Name :  myURL

Address 87.xxx.xxx.xxx (my static IP address)

So the non-authoritative answer is the same.

 

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,981
Thanks: 1,724
Fixes: 38
Registered: ‎16-10-2014

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

No they aren't the items marked (my static IP address) one starts with 81 the other 87 you should really only have a single IP. So one of them is wrong!

DebbieR
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-04-2017

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

Typing My IP into google gives our static IP address.

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,981
Thanks: 1,724
Fixes: 38
Registered: ‎16-10-2014

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

That is what I'd expect but see my previous post. This is what I get using nslookup:

nslookup username.plus.com
Server:		192.168.0.7
Address:	192.168.0.7#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:	username.plus.com
Address: xx.2xx.3x.2xx

And the address shown at the bottom of the output is the IP address bound to WAN 1 of my router.

 

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 7,217
Thanks: 1,134
Fixes: 74
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

A ping using my username failed.  Does this help diagnose the problem?

No, if you're using the PN Hub one then it won't respond to a ping from the WAN.

Highlighted
DebbieR
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-04-2017

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

So it looks like you have found the problem but what do I do to fix it?  Where on the Hub Manager do I start looking?

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,981
Thanks: 1,724
Fixes: 38
Registered: ‎16-10-2014

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

I do not use the same router as yourself but if I were you I'd simply disconnect, (then turn the power off if you want) then after about 30 seconds reconnect. This should give you the static IP that was assigned to you. So after the router's rebooted log in to the router and check that the IP is the same as the one shown in Plusnet member centre under Connection Setting > Static IP

DebbieR
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎05-04-2017

Re: Static IP, port forwarding and DNS

OK I'll give that a try later on, when the broadband isn't needed 100 % fo the time.