cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speed woes since the HH5A debacle

ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: 19-01-2015

Speed woes since the HH5A debacle

So I originally had speed issues which resolved itself, but since the HH5A disconnection/reconnection issues (which seem to have been resolved) DLM kicked in and I am running 10megs less than I was when I was previously with BT.
I rebooted the HH5A a few days ago and I still am at 65/19 whereas I was at 76/19 before.
Will DLM re-manage my line and boost me back to my previous speeds or do I need to open a ticket for this to be investigated and possibly having an IP Profile reset by OR?
Cheers,
Rick.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
15 REPLIES
Champnet
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 366
Thanks: 60
Registered: 25-07-2007

Re: Speed woes since the HH5A debacle

Exactly the same problem,  HH5A disconnect/reconnect, 74/18 dropped to 56/18
DM
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: 19-01-2015

Re: Speed woes since the HH5A debacle

I'm hoping DLM will figure out the line is stable now.
But not holding out much faith to be honest.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
Champnet
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 366
Thanks: 60
Registered: 25-07-2007

Re: Speed woes since the HH5A debacle

Realised that re-booting a modem/router is not really helpful...... hoping that it will rise to previous level if left alone.
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: 19-01-2015

Re: Speed woes since the HH5A debacle

My configuration file, which resolved the HH5A issues, was downloaded on the 20th Feb to the router.  I left it about a week or so and DLM was still in situ as speeds not increased. Rebooted a few days ago and still no change.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: 19-01-2015

Re: Speed woes since the HH5A debacle

So I have raised a ticket as nothing has changed since my line stabilised since the 20th Feb when the configuration update was applied to my router.
Frustrating really, although I am saving money by being with pn my speeds have dropped significantly!
Rick.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
thesawdust
Grafter
Posts: 384
Registered: 28-10-2013

Re: Speed woes since the HH5A debacle

firstly, DLM can take a while to restore speeds. Secondly you've rebooted recently, and PlusNET will NOT send an Engineer out to reset DLM unless it's a fault on line. DLM will set changes during the night (3am ish) and you'll notice a resync
Leave it all alone and wait 3-4weeks (DON'T REBOOT)
LukeS
Grafter
Posts: 203
Registered: 09-05-2014

Re: Speed woes since the HH5A debacle

I concur with thesawdust. However, since you have raised a ticket it's worth letting faults double check and make sure there isn't a line fault.
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: 19-01-2015

Re: Speed woes since the HH5A debacle

Fair enough - just frustrating as I have had speed issues ever since I migrated with only about 4-5 hours (if that of 76 megs!).
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: 19-01-2015

Re: Speed woes since the HH5A debacle

So I had a second visit from the OR engineer who says that everything is ok on my line with no errors and has reset my IP Profile, so I am subject to the 10 day stabilisation rules.
Interestingly, he said that ISP's have access to many more tests than he has and that they (the ISP's) can actually reset IP Profiles themselves.
So currently I am on 65/20 - and this morning (before the visit) I was on 75/20 (for some bizarre reason!), so hopefully once the line has settled I will be back up to 75/20.
Fingers crossed this will now resolve matters otherwise I will be migrating back to BT when my contract is up in January.
Rick.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
LukeS
Grafter
Posts: 203
Registered: 09-05-2014

Re: Speed woes since the HH5A debacle

Hi ricke17,
Just out of interest, do you think moving to BT will give you a better speed? or are you just unhappy with Plusnet.
ISP's don't have the option to reset the line remotely unfortunately so I think the engineer must be mistaken. Maybe he was thinking about ADSL.
Usually when the engineer resets the line, it will return to an open profile so it should be at it's maximum speed now. Unfortunately, whilst there is an open fault I can't even test the line. If you're happy for me to close the fault I can run a line test for you.
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: 19-01-2015

Re: Speed woes since the HH5A debacle

I had infinity with BT ever since it launched and had 75/20 since day 1.
Ever since I switched to pn in February my speeds dropped to 60-65/20 with nothing else changing. 
Although there really is not much difference in what I can do speedwise, if I can get the max speeds then that is what I want.  I mean, the day before switching I was on 75/20 and when I switched it has been 60-65/20 and I live about 100-120m from the green cabinet!
So my IP Profile has been reset and am hoping that once stabilisation etc I will go back up to 75/20 - currently I am 65/19.
Yes, close the fault and see what you are getting your end?
Cheers,
Ricardo.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
LukeS
Grafter
Posts: 203
Registered: 09-05-2014

Re: Speed woes since the HH5A debacle

My point about BT was that, unless you know something I don't, then I'm fairly certain it's exactly the same line and connection at the cabinet. Therefore the speed you're seeing is nothing to do with the service provider.
The tests report that you are in sync at 67Mb, have you rebooted the modem since the engineer visit?
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: 19-01-2015

Re: Speed woes since the HH5A debacle

Hi Luke,
Yes I agree - everything remained the same from point of migration, so the speed drop still remains a mystery.
The OR engineer unplugged the router to plug his own testing equipment in - so, in effect, I guess the router was rebooted inadvertently when he plugged everything back in.
Ricardo.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: 19-01-2015

Re: Speed woes since the HH5A debacle

A quick update - all is good and getting speeds I was getting when I was with BT!
Rick.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000