cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speed on my new Fibre installation

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,558
Thanks: 172
Fixes: 2
Registered: 27-05-2011

Speed on my new Fibre installation

I've had fibre since last Thursday but don't believe how good it is
My profile says 30 Mb but am getting the result below on an IPad.
Am I getting confused with the units  Huh
Speed Test result from SpeedSmart for iOS
Download: 30.77 Mbps
Upload: 7.71 Mbps
Ping: 30 Ms
Test Date: 10/23/14 - 12:40 pm
Connection: WiFi
Server: West, London
To do is to be - Neitzsche
To be is to do - Kant
do be do be do - Sinatra
4 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: Speed on my new Fibre installation

nothing appears to be wrong there, what is the issue you think you have?
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,558
Thanks: 172
Fixes: 2
Registered: 27-05-2011

Re: Speed on my new Fibre installation

I thought it was too good for a wifi connection
Also with this as my profile i would expect something like 25 Mbps for my download speed  Huh
Telephone number:
xxxxxxxxxxx
Phone exchange:
FILEY
Estimated line speed:
20Mb (Download speed could vary depending on line conditions. Estimates are the maximum speeds that your phone line can support. These speeds are dependent on the package you choose.) - Checked on 2014-10-08 11:47:28
Current line speed:
30.2 Mb
To do is to be - Neitzsche
To be is to do - Kant
do be do be do - Sinatra
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,859
Thanks: 115
Fixes: 36
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Speed on my new Fibre installation

Quote
Am I getting confused with the units

mbps are the ones concerned with speed as it's a measurement of megabytes per second
mb just refers to a quantity of data.
what speeds do you get according to a test at http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/?
Do bear in mind that speeds over wireless are never quite the same as over ethernet.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,558
Thanks: 172
Fixes: 2
Registered: 27-05-2011

Re: Speed on my new Fibre installation

@adam
I did a BTW speed test the other day, am I right that you get the results as my ISP?  Roll eyes
My immediate problem is that the desktop is in the office at the top of the house connected by homeplugs making it unsuitable for speed tests. so my day to day computer is the IPad giving the results below which I would like to verify  Smiley
I have a laptop which I can do a speed tests but it is not well and is put away most of the time  Smiley
To do is to be - Neitzsche
To be is to do - Kant
do be do be do - Sinatra