cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speed not increased after switch to fibre

jon
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Thanks: 7
Registered: 13-07-2016

Speed not increased after switch to fibre

My line was upgraded to fibre yesterday. I got the email first thing in the morning yesterday. Unfortunately when I checked yesterday evening (and also this morning) it's still at the same speed (about 5mbps) as it was before the fibre upgrade. I asked why on a support ticket but I got a response saying that my line speeds can vary over the first 10 days and that I should only try and troubleshoot it after 10 days. I tried a router reboot but it made no difference.

Does it really take up to 10 days for the line speed to increase? I was expecting it to happen immediately (with perhaps some minor fluctuations over the 10 days).

If I go to https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed it says my current line speed is 4.9Mb and my estimated line speed is 40Mb. I have a new Hub One.

14 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,529
Thanks: 1,078
Fixes: 126
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Speed not increased after switch to fibre

nip on to the online chat, they just need to update your profile - should be a quick fix Smiley
Will Moderate For Thanks
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,766
Thanks: 344
Fixes: 136
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Speed not increased after switch to fibre

Just been updated for you.

If you disconnect then reconnect that should do the trick.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
MattyC
Champion
Posts: 3,192
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 46
Registered: 10-04-2014

Re: Speed not increased after switch to fibre

Looks like my colleague has picked this up for you. Let me know if there's anything else we can do.

ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet
jon
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Thanks: 7
Registered: 13-07-2016

Re: Speed not increased after switch to fibre

Thanks for changing that. I've restarted the router but unfortunately the connection speed still hasn't budged.

I've included the information from the router below.

1. Product name: Plusnet Hub
2. Serial number:  
3. Firmware version: Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.217.1.1 Last updated Unknown
4. Board version: Plusnet Hub One
5. DSL uptime: 0 days, 01:20:50
6. Data rate: 776 / 5684
7. Maximum data rate: 19558 / 5716
8. Noise margin: 6.7 / 6.1
9. Line attenuation: 29.0 / 51.9
10. Signal attenuation: 29.0 / 49.1
11. Data sent/received: 0.2 MB / 0.1 MB
12. Broadband username:  
13. 2.4 GHz Wireless network/SSID:  
14. 2.4 GHz Wireless connections: Enabled (802.11 b/g/n (up to 144 Mb/s))
15. 2.4 GHz Wireless security: WPA2
16. 2.4 GHz Wireless channel: Automatic (Smart Wireless)
17. 5 GHz Wireless network/SSID:  
18. 5 GHz Wireless connections: Enabled (802.11 a/n/ac (up to 1300 Mb/s))
19. 5 GHz Wireless security: WPA2
20. 5 GHz Wireless channel: Automatic (Smart Wireless)
21. Firewall: Default
22. MAC Address:  
23. VPI/VCI: 0 / 38
24. Modulation: G.992.5 Annex A
25. Latency type: Fast
26. Software variant: AA
27. Boot loader: 1.0.0
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,529
Thanks: 1,078
Fixes: 126
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Speed not increased after switch to fibre

best thing to do it to go to https://faults.plus.net and raise a fault to get the ball rolling.
something amiss Sad
Will Moderate For Thanks
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 362
Fixes: 115
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Speed not increased after switch to fibre

If you can run through the broadband trouble shooter linked by dvorak I'll be happy to investigate the issue tomorrow for you. Smiley

I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support
jon
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Thanks: 7
Registered: 13-07-2016

Re: Speed not increased after switch to fibre

Thanks, done.

I couldn't check for noise on my phone line as I don't have a phone! So I just answered as OK to proceed. If you think it's important then I can borrow a phone to try it, but I'm assuming the problem is something to do with the fibre upgrade gone wrong, not to do with the phone line itself.

For the speed tests I've run it 3 times and each time get 4.89 download.

I've also tried running the diagnostics, see attached screenshot. It shows "Max Achievable Speed" as 7.15 which is clearly wrong as it should be around  40.

 

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 362
Fixes: 115
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Speed not increased after switch to fibre

Thanks for getting back to us. I'm having difficulty in finding your account. Please can you PM me your username?

I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 362
Fixes: 115
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Speed not increased after switch to fibre

@jon Having tested your line I can see that your fibre upgrade is not yet complete. Our suppliers pushed this back to 18/07/2016 due to engineer availability in your area. Sad I'm sorry about this and I apologise that my colleagues didn't see this earlier.

I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support
jon
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Thanks: 7
Registered: 13-07-2016

Re: Speed not increased after switch to fibre

Thanks for looking into this. Do you know whether the engineer has indeed connected my line today? I've not received any messages about it. My line speed is still showing as 4.9 but I've not been home to check the router yet.

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 362
Fixes: 115
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Speed not increased after switch to fibre

The upgrade can happen at any point up to midnight. I can't confirm at the moment as I'm not in the office. Sad If my colleagues don't get to pick this up today I'll look over things first thing tomorrow morning for you. Smiley

I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support
jon
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Thanks: 7
Registered: 13-07-2016

Re: Speed not increased after switch to fibre

Thanks for your help, I can confirm that it is now working!

Is there anything you can do to ensure that in future customers are notified when an activation is delayed to avoid this confusion? Also is there anything you can do to make other staff more aware of situations like this; the original response I got in ticket #128931464 incorrectly said fibre had gone live and that I shouldn't raise a speed fault for 10 days. I didn't belive this, hence I posted on this forum but less savy users wouldn't have known to do this.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,766
Thanks: 344
Fixes: 136
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Speed not increased after switch to fibre

It's a issue we're aware of and investigating.

Sorry for any inconvenience caused.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 362
Fixes: 115
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Speed not increased after switch to fibre

Awesome, I'm happy that your fibre is now online. In regards to your response you received on Ticket 128931464, this was down to agent error. I can only apologise and pass on feed back for you.

I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support