cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speed capped

Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎28-05-2014

Speed capped

Can someone look at my line profile. I still can't achieve more than 68Mbps.

Routerstats
Data rate: 20 Mbps / 68.508 Mbps
Maximum data rate: 23.043 Mbps / 82.374 Mbps
Noise margin: 6.0 / 6.0
Line attenuation: 4.7 / 14.3
Signal attenuation: 4.7 / 17.3
VLAN id:101
Upstream error control:Off
Downstream error control:Off

My IP profile from Openreach is currently
Down 66.13Mbps
Up 20Mbps

I have had no faults and my router has been left on hoping that the dlm will increase it but it still hasn't so i tried turning the router off leaving it for a bit then turning it back on and its still the same. Before this I was on the 55/10 profile and that took a couple of times to get removed, because the order wansnt done properly at plusnet.

7 REPLIES 7
Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,892
Thanks: 328
Fixes: 106
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Speed capped

Hi @maddog56,

 

Together with our network partners at Openreach we will try to provide you with the best speeds possible. If you feel this is not the case, please raise your speed fault online at faults.plus.net

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Emily D
 Plusnet Help Team
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,205
Thanks: 482
Fixes: 51
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Speed capped

Is that a fault? Is your line capable of more. The stats look OK.

Enter your number in the DSL checker and post the results, minus your phone number https://www.broadbandchecker.btwholesale.com/#/ADSL

 

Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎28-05-2014

Re: Speed capped

Bt checker results 

Highlighted
Pro
Posts: 1,457
Thanks: 119
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎19-02-2014

Re: Speed capped

the maximum available in the router stats being 82Mb is a sign the line can do more doesn't need the BTW checker to know that.

 

 

Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,205
Thanks: 482
Fixes: 51
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Speed capped

Equally being 20Mbps above handback speeds means no one is going to investigate in the current climate.

Highlighted
Pro
Posts: 1,457
Thanks: 119
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎19-02-2014

Re: Speed capped

Not true, handback speeds have nothing to do with investigating a fault, they are for cancelling the service without penalty if Opnerech can't get the speed back above whatever your hand back level is.

Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,205
Thanks: 482
Fixes: 51
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Speed capped

The BTW test today shows sync speed is now 74Mbps, I presume DLM has done its thing.

But even at 68Mbps a fault would be rejected by BTW/Openreach with leave it a few/days /weeks to let DLM do its thing.

The Max attainable speed is only a theoretical figure and can vary router by router.