cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speed Tester

Kremmen
Rising Star
Posts: 499
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-04-2013

Speed Tester

I've been using a new speed tester at speedof.me
it doesn't use Flash or Java but HTML5 and it always produces readings closer to what the Openreach engineers got on their mobile devices.
In my case Speedtest.net shows circa 17 or 18Mbps but this shows 19 or 20Mbps. The Openreach engineers kit plugged into the test socket was showing 20Mbps.
I like it  Smiley
Let's be careful out there !
14 REPLIES
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,769
Thanks: 1,396
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Speed Tester

mmmm is shows me i lost some somewhere  Sad
69.86 Down
6.71 up
12 ms ping
speedtest.net
72.14 down
17.36 up
12 ms ping
TBB
72.3 down
18.3 up
16ms ping
all servers say London
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,982
Thanks: 141
Fixes: 46
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Speed Tester

Good spot Kremmen
I'm sure a lot of people will find a non Java of Flash based app useful.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
anniesboy
Grafter
Posts: 385
Thanks: 2
Registered: 06-01-2011

Re: Speed Tester

I tried it and got a very odd result.
Speed of      0.99 down
                      4.67  up
                      22 ping

TBB                24.9  down
                      8.4 up
                      21 ping
Speedtest      24.93  down
                        7.98 up
                          19  ping
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,611
Thanks: 22
Registered: 29-06-2010

Re: Speed Tester

You always get different results from different testers, obviously, but I've always found Speed of Me consistently gives the worst results:


ajbrown1965
Grafter
Posts: 121
Registered: 27-02-2009

Re: Speed Tester

Just tried speedof.me. Gave me 1.01Mbps download and 3.94Mbps upload. Speedtest.net gave me 73.35Mbps down and 16.95Mbps up, which is what I get with most speed tests I try. I don't think I'll be switching to speedof.me any time soon!
Terranova667
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,242
Thanks: 56
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-02-2014

Re: Speed Tester

I ran it 3 times and got different results for each of them 1 being pretty much spot on the others being way of either on the download or the upload so it's no better or worse than any other really.
Kremmen
Rising Star
Posts: 499
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-04-2013

Re: Speed Tester

Thanks for the input.
I wonder why it works consistently for me but not for some others. It was recommended to me on another forum where they raved about it being html5.
Let's be careful out there !
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,769
Thanks: 1,396
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Speed Tester

Kremen what browser do you use ?Huh
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
sjptd
Grafter
Posts: 467
Registered: 01-09-2014

Re: Speed Tester

speedof.me gave download tests slightly faster than my connection (40.45 on a 40 connection; difference is noise). and upload below what a good tester gives (15.15 vs 18.6 or so)
Thinkbroadband gives the most consistently sensible values for me.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Speed Tester

+1 for thinkbroadband, sensible and realistic results.
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,611
Thanks: 22
Registered: 29-06-2010

Re: Speed Tester

+1 for TBB here, too.
Kremmen
Rising Star
Posts: 499
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-04-2013

Re: Speed Tester

Quote from: rongtw
Kremen what browser do you use ?Huh

Firefox
I've run it again and the results are still closer to the OR engineers results than speedtest. I never thought of browsers  Roll eyes
Let's be careful out there !
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 4
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: Speed Tester

I just tried it - clicked the "Start Test" button - and nothing happens !  Crazy
I'll try it again later of a different PC.

I compare web based speed checker results with the real-time firewall or "System Monitor" on my Linux PCs, and my broadband router has an accurate traffic throughput graph that can be viewed while performing speedtests.
I find that -



My SamKnows whitebox also gives accurate speedtest results,  but it doesn't seem as good as they claim regarding not performing speed tests when the connection is being heavily used, so some results during peak times have to be ignored.
Crazy
sjptd
Grafter
Posts: 467
Registered: 01-09-2014

Re: Speed Tester

Firewalls and antivirus can also skew speed tests.  They can slightly slow everything down.  I some cases the way they buffer information for checking before passing it on to applications can have the reverse effect. 
As an extreme example, Kaspersky a few years ago would routinely have a huge effect.  I got confused speedtests report over over 100Mbps on a 20Mbps ADSL connection, and I saw other even more extreme distortions posted.  There was no significant impact on real speeds.