cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow upload after a solid connection for 5 years

modd1uk

Slow upload after a solid connection for 5 years

Hi guys, I bought my house 5 years ago and went with BT to start with and switched to plusnet back in 2014. I've had a solid 50-54mbps download and 11-14mbps upload since I moved in, however for the last two weeks my upload has dropped to 4 - 6mbps.

I reported the fault, Plusnet sent me a hub one out in case it was the openreach modem I use causing an issue, it made no difference. At the time I reported the fault I was getting 48mbps down and 4-6mbps upload.

I had an engineer visit on Thursday 29/06/2017 (I'm not overly confident he knew what he was doing, I'm an IT technician by trade so can usually sniff out the less competent engineers - that makes me sound like an [-Censored-] but it's better to give the full story). He fitted a new face-plate and did various checks / resets on the line and said my broadband speed should creep back up, however my speed is actually worse since he's been, I now get about 37mbps down and 6mbps up.

Now I know the line is more than capable of a solid upload of 11-14mbps which was great for playing games / streaming to twitch, I'm a loyal plusnet customer with 5 referrals on my account and I recently switched to plusnet mobile, I'm due to move house in the next 6-8 weeks and will either need my account transferring or signing up to Virgin, as even with their terrible customer service their upload is more than I'm currently getting :/.

Anything you can do?

Regards Andy

6 REPLIES 6
MatthewWheeler
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Fixes: 480

Re: Slow upload after a solid connection for 5 years

Sorry to hear you're having issues with your upload speed.

Our tests aren't showing any obvious cause but the speeds are slightly below the low end of your estimate.

The only way to progress the issue would be to arrange another engineer visit