cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow fibre tonight?

carlmagic
Grafter
Posts: 55
Registered: 29-10-2014

Slow fibre tonight?


My account says i'm connected at 78Mb/s and my modem is showing i am connected at 80/20. Its not just the speedtest which is slow, twitch is slow and downloading from steam also.


Wondering if you can shine any light to whats going on? Thanks
61 REPLIES
comicbbokguy
Grafter
Posts: 30
Registered: 31-05-2013

Re: Slow fibre tonight?

Mine slowed down around 8pm.
Just login to router and disconnect and reconnect and it goes back to full speed.
Could be something to do with what happened around 8pm:
carlmagic
Grafter
Posts: 55
Registered: 29-10-2014

Re: Slow fibre tonight?

tried disconnecting and reconnecting and nothing still the same
on http://usertools.plus.net/@gateway/
it says i am connected to ptw-bng02
Terranova667
Pro
Posts: 1,277
Thanks: 70
Fixes: 3
Registered: 19-02-2014

Re: Slow fibre tonight?

the BNG gateways are always having issues i don't bother with them I haven't been able to stay on one for very long before it just drops the session so every time I land on one i just gateway hop until i'm on something other than a BNG one, I'm currently on pcl-ag08 and haven't had any issues with it including today nothing that was noticeable. 
carlmagic
Grafter
Posts: 55
Registered: 29-10-2014

Re: Slow fibre tonight?

How do I gateway hop? Is it possible for plusnet to assign me to one manually? Thanks
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,259
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 3
Registered: 22-06-2012

Re: Slow fibre tonight?

Quote
the BNG gateways are always having issues

Not they are not!  Sad I'm connected to pcl-bng03 & it's as steady as a rock. Prior to that I was permanently connected to pcl-bng01 for over 2 months. Smiley
Quote
How do I gateway hop?

Just log into your router & manually disconnect. It will then reconnect automatically after about 60 seconds & you should have changed gateway. You may have to do it a couple of times.
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,531
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Slow fibre tonight?

Any BNG gateways have terrible connections for Gaming !
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,445
Thanks: 505
Fixes: 190
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Slow fibre tonight?

Hi there.
Sorry to hear you've had problems. Is everything working okay now or are you still having issues?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
carlmagic
Grafter
Posts: 55
Registered: 29-10-2014

Re: Slow fibre tonight?

Hi Matthew it seemed to speed up again after midnight. Which seems like it might have been gateway congestion? I have done some gateway hopping as above and have moved to ptw-bng01 rather than ptw-bng02. Ill get back to you tonight in the "prime time" to see if it stays or if it drops again. Thanks Smiley
Would like to ask Matthew is what the others above said about gaming and the BNG gateways true? If so is it possible to manually assign someone to one of the other ones? Thanks.
thesawdust
Grafter
Posts: 384
Registered: 28-10-2013

Re: Slow fibre tonight?

Quote from: tijara33
Not they are not!  Sad I'm connected to pcl-bng03 & it's as steady as a rock. Prior to that I was permanently connected to pcl-bng01 for over 2 months. Smiley

I was connected to pcl-bng01 for nearly 60 odd days, seems pretty stable. Then for some reason my line kicked the bucket and spat dummy out and now applied interleaving.
I still prefer PTN gateways. Low latency  Cool
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,445
Thanks: 505
Fixes: 190
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Slow fibre tonight?

There might have been a issue last night however I'll leave that up to the Network guys to investigate.
We aren't able to force customers onto specific gateways and in all fairness being a gamer myself I've never seen any issues with the BNG's.
Do let us know if you have issues again.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,531
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Slow fibre tonight?

@Matthew Wheeler  i dont know what it is but BNG are always bad for BF4  Undecided
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
carlmagic
Grafter
Posts: 55
Registered: 29-10-2014

Re: Slow fibre tonight?


seems to be starting to slow down again Sad normally get 74/18 ish on a speedtest with 12ms ping.

Did a gateway jump, now on ptn-bng02 from ptw-bng01
No better, infact worse?

You are currently connected to gateway pcl-bng03
<a href="http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3982454634"><img src="http://www.speedtest.net/result/3982454634.png" /></a>

Seems very strange getting simmilar results on 3 different gateways? Modem still synced at 80/20 and plusnet showing line speed of 78mbps

gateway pcl-bng01

gateway ptw-ag02

gateway ptn-ag01

gateway ptn-ag01 seems to be the fastest out of all the ones i have gotten above. But its still 20mbit or more off what i am paying for.
jamesanstee
Grafter
Posts: 475
Thanks: 5
Registered: 20-04-2012

Re: Slow fibre tonight?

Im currently on gateway ptn-ag01 and not seeing any speed issues
http://www.speedtest.net/result/3982730110.png
carlmagic
Grafter
Posts: 55
Registered: 29-10-2014

Re: Slow fibre tonight?

I have raised the ticket number #96187230 if a plusnet staff could check it out that would be appreciated.
Hi thanks for checking james.
It seems mine just keeps going slower and slower

Still connected to the same gateway as you and my modem stats are the same

Them errors are with a 22 Hour uptime.
Im guessing it must be something between my cabinet and the gateway then? Would i be best raising a support ticket?
Also started a think broadband ping tracker results here;

this looks awfull to what it was when i first got fibre installed just over a month ago. Please be aware though that the compleate drop outs where me trying to get the TAP3 test working. My connection doesnt go down fully. Just slows down!


Also tried performing a TAP3 Test however it just errors and doesnt show me the results as shown:


Early morning around 6am for comparison