cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow DNS performance

ruffage
Dabbler

Slow DNS performance

Is anyone else getting pitiful response times with nslookups?  For the last few days it's taken ages to complete the loading of webpages, quite often giving up with red Xs where images should be.
So I changed my DNS servers to use Google's (8.8.8.8, 8.8.4.4) and bingo, fast nslookups and fast page loading.  I've since changed it on the router too, rather than re-configure every device I have.
Just wondered if I was alone with my issue or not?
19 REPLIES 19
HPsauce
Pro
Fixes: 2

Re: Slow DNS performance

What device and operating system are you using that has (had) problems?
There are a couple of existing threads about similar/related problems in specific circumstances, Google DNS also seems to be a "quick fix".......
What router is it?
ruffage
Dabbler

Both were Windows 8 PCs.  I'm new to Plusnet so on the Technicolor TG582n  Undecided
Typically after posting, I've just found your thread in the other section!
Anonymous
Not applicable

Quote from: ruffage
Just wondered if I was alone with my issue or not?

As you have found, there does appear to be a problem with Windows 8 PCs using the Plusnet DNS.
However Windows 8 or not,  I have been here 15 years, and frequently benchmark various DNSes to ensure I'm using the fastest and most reliable.
Google DNS has ALWAYS been faster and more reliable than Plusnet DNS,  and OpenDNS is usually faster than Google.

I gave up using Plusnet DNS years ago, and the improved reliability of web page loading was immediately noticeable.
Using Google DNS,  OpenDNS,  or the Hurricane Electric DNS is a no-brainer,  no downside,  just do it.

I've just done a DNS benchmark, which shows the fastest DNS at the top, and getting slower down the chart.