cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should it be faster?

martynhsmith
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎06-03-2013

Should it be faster?

I'm on fibre extra and after lots of fiddling about trying different routers and wireless access points I now have

A BT Openreach VDSL2 FTTC
Huawei EchoLife HG612 modem/router

Connecting to a drateck router and an external access point. I have a gigabit switches that all work.

I now have a speed of 52 down and 17 up (before I sorted stuff out it was low 40s and unstable)

But the router and BT says my maximum is 66 - I don't get anywhere near that.

I know I being greedy but can anything else be done?

Martyn
12 REPLIES
martynhsmith
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎06-03-2013

Re: Should it be faster?

This is what BT wholesale said
martynhsmith
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎06-03-2013

Re: Should it be faster?

And plusnet says this

High-speed Broadband

Estimated line speed:
There's no speed estimate currently held on your account.
Current line speed:
64.6 Mb
bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 900
Thanks: 132
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎18-10-2008

Re: Should it be faster?

 

Run the BT wholesale speedteter again, and then click 'Further Diagnostics' button at the bottom of the page.  The downstream/upstream IP profiles reported on the following page give a better indication of maximum download/upload speeds which you may see using a speed tester.  eg. downstream IP profile may be nearer to the 64.6mb you have quoted.

example:

https://community.bt.com/t5/image/serverpage/image-id/17332iE5023CEC74CC510B?v=1.0

If you are using an unmodified HG612 modem, the only way to discover the actual line speeds, is to unlock it, and access the stats via the LAN2 port. 

 

Also can you confirm you do have 'Unlimited Fibre Extra' ?

 

 

 

 

martynhsmith
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎06-03-2013

Re: Should it be faster?

Downstream IP profile is 64.61mbps

My hg612 is unlocked and networked on man port 2, screenshot attached

Yes, unlimited fibre extra

Martyn
bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 900
Thanks: 132
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎18-10-2008

Re: Should it be faster?

Looks ok to me.

Using a hard wired computer, have you tried using  www.speedtest.net or Thinkbroadband.com's speedtester?  

(I find the London -> Vodafone server to be consistent for myself in the south east, when using speedtest.net)

 

fwiw, the BT wholesale speedtester often reports lower than expected download speeds whenever I use it.

martynhsmith
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎06-03-2013

Re: Should it be faster?

so is a 12mb drop standard from maximum possible to actual speed ?

BrokenFibre
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎06-01-2017

Re: Should it be faster?

As bill has said, try using a hard wired connection when doing a Speedtest.  Wireless is subject to lots of different sources of interference.  With a sync speed of 66/20 I would expect to see speed tests around 60-62/18.  A 12Mb drop overwirless wouldn't surprise me.

 

Also do not trust the HG612's XDSL stats in the GUI.  You will get more trust worthy information from telnetting in and running an XDSL command (i.e. xdslcmd info --stats).

martynhsmith
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎06-03-2013

Re: Should it be faster?

This is using wired connections - From memory I get 52 whenever I do the test - but I'll be a bit more organised for the next couple of days and do a connection using speed test (I've just created an account)

I'll telenet into the modem too and get those figures

 

Martyn

martynhsmith
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎06-03-2013

Re: Should it be faster?

Attached file from teleneting to the HG612

Is this bit the important bit ?

Max: Upstream rate = 28496 Kbps, Downstream rate = 66016 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 19999 Kbps, Downstream rate = 66818 Kbps
Bearer: 1, Upstream rate = 0 Kbps, Downstream rate = 0 Kbps

and 8 tests on speednet - different areas

IP_ADDRESS TEST_DATE TIME_ZONE DOWNLOAD_MEGABITS= UPLOAD_MEGABITS LATENCY_MS SERVER_NAME DISTANCE_MILES
xxxxxxx 04/10/2017 18:32 GMT 52.77 17.16 14 Manchester 0
xxxxxxx 04/10/2017 18:34 GMT 52.38 17.2 10 Milton Keynes 100
xxxxxxx 04/11/2017 16:54 GMT 52.53 17.15 8 London 150
xxxxxxx 04/11/2017 17:00 GMT 52.52 17.1 9 Milton Keynes 100
xxxxxxx 04/11/2017 17:01 GMT 52.49 17.28 11 Milton Keynes 100
xxxxxxx 04/11/2017 17:02 GMT 52.61 17.16 8 London 150
xxxxxxx 04/11/2017 20:19 GMT 52.31 17.19 8 London 150
xxxxxxx 04/11/2017 20:31 GMT 52.42 17.15 9 London 150
               
BrokenFibre
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎06-01-2017

Re: Should it be faster?

hi martyn,

 

looking at the stats your downstream SNR is at 3.4dB, which may suggest your area has been updated with BT's new 3dB-6dB rollout where by DLM will reduce the target SNR in 1dB stages (5dB, 4dB, 3dB) to give you more speed (as long as it is stable at that particular SNR).  These resync's normally happen overnight so you may not notice them. Openreach to rollout 3dB target SNRm for FTTC next year

 

also it does appear that your throughput is stuck.  have you tried rebooting the router only and then doing more speed tests.

martynhsmith
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎06-03-2013

Re: Should it be faster?

router rebooted

Anything else I can do ?

 

IP_ADDRESS TEST_DATE TIME_ZONE DOWNLOAD_MEGABITS= UPLOAD_MEGABITS LATENCY_MS SERVER_NAME DISTANCE_MILES
4/14/2017 8:47 PM GMT 53.32 16.31 10 London 0
4/14/2017 8:48 PM GMT 53.33 16.29 10 London 0
4/14/2017 8:49 PM GMT 43.37 17.12 8 London 0
4/14/2017 8:50 PM GMT 49.98 17.11 8 London 0
4/14/2017 9:17 PM GMT 53.31 17.21 8 London 0
4/15/2017 9:37 AM GMT 57.4 17.07 8 London 0
4/15/2017 9:38 AM GMT 50.59 17.2 8 London 0
4/15/2017 4:14 PM GMT 53.27 17.23 8 London 0
4/15/2017 7:40 PM GMT 53.33 16.38 8 London 0
BrokenFibre
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎06-01-2017

Re: Should it be faster?

Hmm.....

 

give the HG612 a reboot (once only), check the xDSL stats again via telnet.  If your line has not been updated with the new dB rollout you might find you line will sync lower and your dB sits around the standard target of 6dB.

 

Turn off/disconnect everything from your network both wired and wireless clients (phones, tablets, NAS etc...) apart from the PC/Mac you are speed testing over wired to make sure nothing else is swallowing up bandwidth.

 

also try out the thinkbroadband speed test and try downloading the thinkbroadband 1GB test file