cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Setting Up VDSL Router instead of Plus.net Supplied Router

PaulAdams
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 18-11-2016

Setting Up VDSL Router instead of Plus.net Supplied Router

Hello,

 

I am trying to get a DrayTek VigorNIC 132 working but the line state flicks between TRAIN and READY, but mainly on TRAIN.  My plus.net supplied router works fine.

Question when you disable the auto setup how long should I wait before trying the Draytek?

 

I am using the same setting I have seen on other posts like VLAN 101 priority 0, etc. 

 

Does anyone have some tips for trying to get other VDSL routers working with plus.net?

 

Many thanks in advance.

 

Regards

 

Paul

 

 

6 REPLIES
Andrue
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 775
Thanks: 88
Fixes: 1
Registered: 12-01-2015

Re: Setting Up VDSL Router instead of Plus.net Supplied Router

I never bother with auto setup as I don't trust it. To be on the safe side as with all FTTC services do not disconnect and re-connect more than once every fifteen minutes. Login/out is fine but the modem should not be allowed to drop the connection more than once every fifteen minutes.

Den1
Rising Star
Posts: 103
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: Setting Up VDSL Router instead of Plus.net Supplied Router

Have you checked your username and password are correct  ?

PaulAdams
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 18-11-2016

Re: Setting Up VDSL Router instead of Plus.net Supplied Router

Thank you for the information.  I will have another go this weekend to see if I can get my new setup working.

Den1
Rising Star
Posts: 103
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: Setting Up VDSL Router instead of Plus.net Supplied Router

For curiosity is this an internal card rather than a external unit ?

PaulAdams
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 18-11-2016

Re: Setting Up VDSL Router instead of Plus.net Supplied Router

Yes, its an internal PCI Express card I am building into a Linux router I am building.  That I intend to install with various software like OpenNMS, SysLog and OpenVPN, etc.

maaarghk
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: 27-06-2017

Re: Setting Up VDSL Router instead of Plus.net Supplied Router

Paul, did you ever have any joy with this? I am thinking of replacing the plusnet supplier modem and router with this exact draytek card so I can use my linux server as a router - almost exactly what you tried in this thread. Did the connection ever calm down?

 

(Also any other advice on how to configure the card would be much appreciated!)