cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Server keeps losing Wifi connection

kay23

Server keeps losing Wifi connection

Hi,
First off I'm no techie so please bear with me. I joined a few months ago. I have fibre optic broad band with a static IP address to received emails to a home based server. We also connection other mobile devices to the router.
Recently the server loses it connection and it appears that the router randomly assign the same IP address to the server and another device.  A friend has suggested that we turn all devices and the server off, switch the router off. then reboot the server and then router and the router assigns the first IP address to the server again. Then we connect the other devices. There isnt a warn when this happens and the first that we know about is when we try to retrieve emails and a error message appears. 
We have to keep doing this every month and its becoming annoying. i never had this issue with BT Broad band and though that the Static IP address was all that was required.
Any ideas?Huh
5 REPLIES 5
dvorak
Fixes: 1,482

Re: Server keeps losing Wifi connection

if you're running a mail server you really should be running it cabled rather than on wireless.
which router is it that you have?
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
sjptd
Grafter

There are two aspects of static IP address.
One is whether your address on the internet is static.  That is effectively the external (WAN, wide area network) address of your router: all your internal devices will be seen on the internet as coming from this address.  If you have a static address from PlusNet this is the address that will be used; otherwise they will generate a new one each time the router connects to the internet.