cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Seem to be stuck on 38(40)Mbps, should be 52(55)

Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Seem to be stuck on 38(40)Mbps, should be 52(55)

Following the 'regrading' of 40/20 to 55/10 my service was successfully switched over to the new service and I was getting around 51Mbps from 7th august, service remained above the previous 40Mbps (except for 1st & 2nd Sept) until 20th September when it dropped to 38Mbps (with no resync or new PPP session, both had been connected since 9th Sept).  Since the 20th Sept the downstream throughput has remained stubbornly at 38Mbps.  I contacted customer service via online chat twice, both times the staff were polite and helpful, trying resetting profiles and advising disconnect and reconnect or even rebooting my router but the downstream seems to be stuck at 38Mbps. My router is in sync at 55Mbps, 'current line speed' is set at 55 but it would appear that there's a 38/40 profile somewhere between me and the internet.  Unfortunately using online chat is a little time consuming and doesn't leave an open ticket for follow-up so rather than repeating the online chat again I have decided to try my luck here.

Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
9 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,665
Thanks: 658
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Seem to be stuck on 38(40)Mbps, should be 52(55)

Testing your line is showing the right sync speeds.


The connection profile on our side is set to 55000, although you have been connected for 3 days straight. Any chance you can try a single disconnect/reconnect to see how that goes

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Seem to be stuck on 38(40)Mbps, should be 52(55)

Hi Chris,

 

My last chat session was 3 days ago, following which I fully rebooted my router (waited 30 minutes as advised), this made no difference so I disconnected/reconnected PPP again and still no difference.  I will try another disconnect but I'm not home and I may lose my remote connection.

Sync speeds are absolutely fine as I used to get around 72/20 I now get 55/10 with decent SNR margin.

Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Seem to be stuck on 38(40)Mbps, should be 52(55)

Refreshed the PPP session now but...Capture.JPG

 

 

 

Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,623
Thanks: 531
Fixes: 205
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Seem to be stuck on 38(40)Mbps, should be 52(55)

I think I know the cause. Leave it with me.

[edit]

Can you try another PPP disconnect?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Seem to be stuck on 38(40)Mbps, should be 52(55)

Hi @MatthewWheeler, sorry I just saw this (I'm at work), I'll give it a go.

Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Seem to be stuck on 38(40)Mbps, should be 52(55)

Still looking much the same...

Capture1.JPG

Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,623
Thanks: 531
Fixes: 205
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Seem to be stuck on 38(40)Mbps, should be 52(55)

Very bizarre.

Everything is set correctly on our end so I'd recommend raising a fault here

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Seem to be stuck on 38(40)Mbps, should be 52(55)

Thanks @

 

Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,623
Thanks: 531
Fixes: 205
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Seem to be stuck on 38(40)Mbps, should be 52(55)

Hopefully it can have the same resolution Smiley

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team