cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Second Plus Net fibre line

BenJSmyth
Grafter
Posts: 51
Registered: 21-03-2013

Second Plus Net fibre line

Hi all,
Just a quick one - do Plusnet offer two lines to residential properties? We have on with fibre on it already and am just investigating a second one.
Thanks
Ben
21 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: Second Plus Net fibre line

you can have as many additional lines installed as you want.
you'll pay line rental and broadband fees on it though.
MattyC
Champion
Posts: 3,192
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 46
Registered: 10-04-2014

Re: Second Plus Net fibre line

You certainly can, though it'll need the sign up of a new account.
ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: Second Plus Net fibre line

Don't forget to refer yourself if you do though so that you get a referral discount on the first account Wink
BenJSmyth
Grafter
Posts: 51
Registered: 21-03-2013

Re: Second Plus Net fibre line

That's good news - I may consider it then.
Would there be an install or new line charge for this? I guess I'd have to phone up for a specific deal.
GeordieMark
Grafter
Posts: 335
Thanks: 1
Registered: 10-11-2013

Re: Second Plus Net fibre line

I enquired about this a while back, and yes it's like getting a new line in so you'd pay an install / activation charge of £50 (IIRC)
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,665
Thanks: 658
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Second Plus Net fibre line

It'd simply be a second account, so new username, phone number etc.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,694
Thanks: 1,951
Fixes: 247
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Second Plus Net fibre line

and you can refer yourself Smiley

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

BenJSmyth
Grafter
Posts: 51
Registered: 21-03-2013

Re: Second Plus Net fibre line

Thanks guys. I like the fact you can refer yourself! I'll have to look up the benefits of that.
BenJSmyth
Grafter
Posts: 51
Registered: 21-03-2013

Re: Second Plus Net fibre line

I guess if I did do this then the Plusnet supplied TV - Youview+ - would need to be pushed down the connection its assigned to, rather than load balancing across both connections?
MattyC
Champion
Posts: 3,192
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 46
Registered: 10-04-2014

Re: Second Plus Net fibre line

That would be the case yes, you will assign a single connection to the box.
ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet
BenJSmyth
Grafter
Posts: 51
Registered: 21-03-2013

Re: Second Plus Net fibre line

That's cool - thanks.
Not been on these forums much before but the responses are great, even from Plusnet themselves. Loads better than previous ISP's forums I've used.
GeordieMark
Grafter
Posts: 335
Thanks: 1
Registered: 10-11-2013

Re: Second Plus Net fibre line

Sorry to hijack the thread, but is there some sort of QoS in place to make sure that someone downloading doesn't cause the TV to buffer?
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,665
Thanks: 658
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Second Plus Net fibre line

We have traffic prioritisation, so that realtime services shouldn't be impacted by those that aren't as time-sensitive.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
GeordieMark
Grafter
Posts: 335
Thanks: 1
Registered: 10-11-2013

Re: Second Plus Net fibre line

Thought so, cheers Chris